Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) by: Marissa Meyer Review !

I’m warning you guys now, if you guys haven’t read the first book Cinder then don’t read this review because it might spoil you of the ending of the last book.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) by: Marissa Meyer which is a young adult, science fiction, romance novel that was published on February 5, 2013. This was a re-telling of Little Red Riding Hood, which I never actually enjoyed until this book.

This book was so freaking amazing. I think I love it more than Cinder and I feel like that’s what I’m going to say as I read the rest of the books in the series.

I want to start this review by talking about the continuous of Cinder’s story in this book. Cinder had so much character developement compared to the last book. She realizes who really is and how much power she actually has. She becomes stronger and less cautious.

She meets this criminal ‘Captain’ Thorne; who helps her escape. I actually really enjoyed his character and his relationship with Cinder. I loved how he annoyed her but at the end, she actually cared about his safety.

I just love how Thorne would be lighten the mood when something intense was happening. He gave me so many comic-relief moments. He’s one of my favorite male characters in this series so far, I really hope we see more of him and his arrogance, cocky attitude that I loved.

Something I wish could’ve happened was seeing more of Cinder and Prince; well Emperor, Kai interaction. But I did like how they thought about each other and Kai would say he’s done with her but always end up thinking about her at the end.

Hopefully, there’s more Cinder and Kai interaction in the next book.

Now talking about the focus in the book. The main character Scarlet’s grandmother goes missing and the police are doing nothing about it so she takes it as her responsiblity to find out what happened to her grandmother because she wouldn’t just leave without any information.

Scarlet was a bad ass who carried around a gun in the back of her pants and her red hoodie(that’s her version of the red cape)

Scarlet meets Wolf, who’s a shy and cautious street fighter who gets so nervous easily. (At times, I wanted to yell at the book “JUST TOUCH HER ALREADY”) He asks her if she can work in her Grandmother’s farm but she says that she doesn’t really need anyone’s help on the farm.

Scarlet’s father gives her a hint of where her grandmother was and she blames it on Wolf; because of his tattoo she noticed when they first meet. That was the start of a road trip to Paris to find her grandmother with Wolf guiding her.

My favorite scene in this book, was when Scarlet and Wolf went on the second train. They connected so well and my feels were out of control. If you guys already read the book, you know what I’m talking. For the people who didn’t read it yet, you need to read it to know what I’m talking about.

I think Marissa Meyer did an amazing job building the connection between Wolf and Scarlet. I loved the protection side of Wolf, no matter what was going on all he though about was saving Scarlet.

Another one of my favorite parts was the fact that Scarlet considered herself as the “Alpha-Female” to Wolf’s “Alpha-Male”.

So many secrets enravel about Wolf, Luna, and these creatures that Queen Levana created that was mentioned in the last book.

Queen Levana was more evil in this book then she was in the last book, and I hope her evilness continues as the story continues. (I know, I’m weird. But, the story is getting so good)

There was so many more action in this book and so many bloody moments. They were perfectly written that I could actually imagine the action moments this book had.

There’s lies being, sacrifices being made, and new relationships being formed (some good and some bad).

Something I really love about this series, is the righting of course and also how it has sections in the book called “Book One” , “Book Two” etc. I also enjoyed the small quote under the section that I’m on, that comes from the fairytale the book that it’s telling.

My favorite quote was for “Book Two” , the quote was;

Little Red was a tender young morsel,

and the wolf knew she would be even

tastier than the old woman.

This book was amazing, and I definately give it a 5/5 stars. This is starting to become one of my favotite series so far. The ending of the book was a cliffhangar just like the last book, so I’m trying to read Cress as soon as possible.

I definately reccommend this book to anyone. After reading Cinder and starting Scarlet, I’ve been reccommending this book left and right.

Leave a Reply

