Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by: Marissa Meyer Book Review !

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer is a young adult, science fiction, romance novel that was published on February 4, 2014. This book is a re-telling of Rapunzel.

If you guys haven’t read Cinder or Scarlet, there might be spoilers about the last books in this review. There might also be spoilers if you haven’t got to this book either.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

The books in the Lunar Chronicles series get better and bigger as the story goes along.

This book was like Cinder and Scarlet. They’re trying to overcome Queen Levana’s power.

I want to start this review by saying that the interaction between these characters are the world to me. Like when they were seperated and the slowly came back together , I was like, *spongebob voice* “The crew’s all here” Like I loved their individual friendship but they were badass when they were all together.

In this book, we’re introduced to a new character named “Cress”. (We actually saw her in the first book, she was the one who told Cinder about Queen Levana’s plans with Prince Kai) She’s been trapped in a satelitte for 7 years and the only communications she has in with her 10 year old her which she calls “Little Cress” and her “Mistress Sybil” who we’ve seen in other books.

Cress finds a way to contact the crew (which at that point includes; “Scarlet, Wolf, Thorne, Iko; as a spaceship, and obviously Cinder”). They plan to help her escape but obviously things don’t go as planned.

Something happens that ends up seperating the crew in different locations. Cress and Thorne’s adventure start there. Something I find so cute and relatable about Cress’ character is the fact that she’s in love with Carswell Thorne before she even meets him. She spent time in the satelitte, finding information about Thorne’s life which makes her seem to him as a “hero”. She’s a fellow fan girl.

I also loved Thorne in this book. We got to see more of him in this book and it was wonderful. His cocky, arrogant but lovable attitude always made me smile. He still kept his confidence even when something tragic happened to me.

Side note: I was so mad at myself for not seeing the “tragic events of Carswell Thorne” coming. I recently saw the movie “Into the Woods” and I’m just so annoyed that I didn’t see that coming.

One of my favorite scenes was towards the end when the crew(besides Scarlet) go along with their master plan of overthrowing Levana’s power. The stress I had during this part was unbelievable; the whole time I was scared that they would get caught. I would be the worst in that situation, to be honest.

Cinder’s character is so important to me. Her character developement is beautiful to watch. If you look at her in the book “Cinder” and then in the book “Cress” you wouldn’t believe that it’s the same person in the matters of months.

I’ve been dying for the Kai and Cinder’s reunion since the ending of Cinder. We finally get it in this book and it makes my heart warm up. Their chapters were my favorite to read in this book even though it was mostly in the end.

I have so much sympathy for Kai, going from Prince and Emperor and having war just start must be so much to handle for someone so young. Also, the wedding between him and Queen Levana also wore him out which everyone noticed.

I love Iko so much. She’s my spirit animal, she’s the only character that could make me laugh when there’s so much tension in the book. She’s just full of light and love, it’s just amazing. I would love to have her as a friend.

We didn’t get to see a lot of Wolf and Scarlet interaction towards the middle and the end, but there were some in the beginning. They’re so cute and I love the fact that everyone notices their sexual tension. I could literally feel it while reading it.

Something happens to Scarlet that just tears Wolf apart which makes me so sad because he actually cares. I also love how he still calls her his Alpha, even when she’s not there. I hope we get to see more of them and Cinder and Kai in the next book Winter.

Talking about Winter, we got to meet her and her love interest Jacin Clay in this book. We find out some interesting things about her that I didn’t see coming but I can’t wait to see how it turns out in the next book.

I definately recommend this series if you love fairytale re-tellings and action. It has everything I hope for in a book/series. I don’t know what to do with myself until Winter comes out in November.

This might be my favorite book in the series so far, just because of the interactions between the characters. Even though they annoy each other, you can see that they slowly start to care for each other and do their best in protecting them.

-Angie

By the way, if you guys want to see what I’m reading throughout the month, you can go see my goodreads blog: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/26138898-angeline I try to keep my currently reading accurately correct.

2 thoughts on “Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by: Marissa Meyer Book Review !

Leave a Reply

