Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout Book Review!

The first book in the Lux series Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout is a young adult, paranormal romance that was published on May 8, 2012 by Entangled Teens.

This book review might have some spoilers, so if you haven’t read this book yet don’t read ahead.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

Obsidian is the first book in the Lux series and I’m loving it so far. It’s such an amazing first book and I can’t wait to read on in this series.

This book is told in the main character Katy Swartz’s point of view. Katy and her mom move to West Virginia from Florida in order to overcome her father’s death.

She moves next door to the teen twins named Daemon and Dee Black. She becomes friends with the girl Dee even though Daemon doesn’t appreciate his little sister hanging out with one of them. Pretty much, humans.

While Katy hangs out with Dee, she realizes that the people in the town either look at her as if she’s the princess or they look at her with fears in their eyes. Katy knew they were different from the beginning. She held on to small clues like; Daemon holding his breathe underwater for more than 5 minutes or they way they would fade in and out.

When Katy was near to death, Daemon literally stops time with his hand and that’s when the secrets comes out. Katy and her mother moved next door to Aliens.

..

.

Something I found interesting about this book was they way they described Alien.

Instead of them being these lumpy, green, E.T-like creatures, they’re bascially light which was very fascinating.

Daemon Black was described as infuritating, arrogant and stab-worthy. These adjectives were perfect for him since a lot of the times I just wanted to slap him for messing with Katy’s feelings.

But at the same time, I loved him. How he would look at her with those emerald eyes and the cute small things he would say by accident.

He was afraid of being close to a human but it was shown in the bonus material that showed some of the chapters in his point of view, that he couldn’t help himself from being attached to her.

I also loved how he would randomly be deep and catch me off guard.

“‘I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect.’ His eyes searched mine intently, and for a moment we stood there toe to toe ‘The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It’s just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness.'”

                                                                    -Daemon Black (Obsidian)

Katy Swatz was a bad-ass character. At the beginning, she was this shy girl who spent more time writing on her blog and reading books than going outside and socializing(Relatable!) The more and more Daemon would annoy her and make her angry, the more she decided to be the strong Katy she never knew she could be.

Her character growth was amazing and incredibly written.

I enjoyed reading the girl friendship in this book between Dee and Katy and even Lesa, Carissa and Katy. I haven’t seen a book with a lot of female friendships so I really enjoyed that in this book.

One of my favorite scenes with Dee and Katy was when Dee was showing all of the things she can transform as and she ended up transforming into a replica of Katy.

“‘Hey,’ Dee-as-me said. ‘Can you tell us apart?’

Heart pounding, I started to stand but didn’t make it. My mouth moved but no word came out. ‘This is…weird.’ I squinted. ‘Does my nose really look like that? Turn around.’ She did. I shrugged. ‘My butt doesn’t look bad.’

                                                                -Katy Swatz, (Obsidian)

Something about this scene just made me laugh.

Something that really made me love this book was the fact that the relationship between Katy and Daemon wasn’t forced or rushed. I like how it’s taking it’s time going from enemies, to being able to deal with each other, to something more. I just love reading it happening.

Something I would change about this book would be the fact that the back of the book tells the reader exactly what Daemon and Dee are. I wish they didn’t tell us so we would be able to find out exactly when Katy finds out. But other than that, I wouldn’t change anything else.

The ending of the book made me really want to get the next book just so I’ll see the progress of Daemon and Katy’s relationship.

I definately recommend this book to anyone who loves paranormal romance or anyone who loves hot, swoon worthy bad boy male characters.

-Angie

One thought on “Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout Book Review!

Leave a Reply

