Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout Book Review!

I just want to say that I’m sorry for not posting a book review since April. I haven’t read much this month because of my reading slump. But hopefully June is a better month for me.

Opal is the third book in the Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout which is a young adult paranormal romance novel that was published on December 11, 2012 by Entangled Teens.

This book review might have some spoilers; especially if you haven’t read Obsidian or Onyx, so don’t read ahead if you don’t want to be spoiled.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

I loved this book, it’s my favorite one so far. I feel like I’m going to say that for every book that’s in this series. It’s just getting better and better.

I honestly can’t believe the thoughts and emotions this book is making me feel right now. This is all I can think about. Daemon Black can’t be more perfect, the love he shows for Katy is beautiful. I love how much they’ve developed since the first book.

The name Opal comes from the stone that makes the Luxens and Hybrids stronger and more powerful. They can make Luxens dissappear or reflect as they call it and makes Hybrids use their powers without getting tired easily.

I love how Jennifer L. Armentrout named the books after the stones that are relevant to the book I’m reading.

The enemies in the first book was Arum , in the second book it was the DOD or the Department of Defense and in this book the enemies were the Daedulus. Even though the old enemies did have their appearances.

Throughout the book, Daemon showed his love to Katy without actually saying the 3 words. That actually amused me how Katy will tell him that she loves him and he’ll basically be like , “I know” but he’ll keep doing small things that show how much he loves her.

Some small things will be how he bought Katy a new laptop after the last 2 laptops were destroyed. Plus, it wasn’t just a normal laptop, it was a MacBook. I’ve become so invested in this story that when I read this part, I looked at my sister and whispered, “He bought me a MacBook because he knows how much I love reviewing books.”

Which is actually relevant to Katy’s life.

Also, something that stressed me out about this book is how close to sex Daemon and Katy were throughout this whole book and they’ll always be interrupted. It was the most annoying thing because throughout the 3 books, I could literally feel the sexual tension and I wasn’t even in the book.

Katy’s character made me laugh. She was such a fire character in this book, she obviously annoyed me at times but most of the time she was an important character to me.

I loved how she stood up for herself whenever Ash would bring something sexual up that happened between Daemon and her like it just made me laugh.

Daemon Black was obviously perfect like he was just so caring but old Daemon at the same time. Katy didn’t entirely change him, she just improved him to a higher level which I love.

I love the prom night like it just made me happy, just seeing how normal they were.

I also loved Lesa in this book, even though something traumatic happens to her, she still found a way to make me laugh. She was so funny and open to what she was thinking. Like when they went prom dress shopping and she told Ash she should basically go to prom naked cause her black dress was so short. She just had no shame which I loved.

If you’re wondering, I still hate Blake. Like sometimes Katy will be feel bad for him and I’m sitting here like you can’t even name the horrible things he did with one hand cause it just keeps happening. He was incredibly creepy in this book, like he was literally obsessed with Katy.

Also, Dee and Katy’s frienship is getting better. Throughout the beginning, they didn’t speak and Dee was a completely different person because of what happened at the end of Onyx . But towards the end, Dee really made an effort to become friends with Katy. They aren’t as close as they were in Obsidian but they’re making progress.

I definitely reccommend this book to anyone. Especially because of Daemon.

Like the last book review, I’m going to name 3 reasons, you should read it that has to do with Daemon.

1.) He always knows what to say whenever Katy was upset.

“‘ And that’s because you’re good inside,– you’ve always been and will be.’ His hand slipped down my throat, to curve around my shoulders. ‘There is nothing you can say or do that will change that. So grieve what you had to do. Mourn it, but never, ever blame yourself for things that are beyond your control.’

I didn’t know what to say.

His smile slipped into that smug half grin that infuriated and thrilled me. ‘Now get the rest of that crap out of your head, because you’re so much better than that; you’re more than that.'”

-Daemon to Katy, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Opal

2.) He makes perverted comments during serious conversations.

“‘Whatever.’ I crossed my arms.

‘And if you don’t agree with me, I’ll tie you up– and not in the fun way– and lock you in your bedroom.’

My mouth dropped open.

‘Okay, maybe in the fun way. Like later, after everything is done. I’ll come back and—‘

I cut him off. ‘I’d like to see you try to tie me up.’

His eyebrow arched. ‘I bet you would.’

‘Shut up,’ I growed, ‘I’m being serious.’

‘So am I.'”

-Katy-Daemon, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Opal

3.) He would sacrafice anything for Katy.

“He didn’t say anything for a long moment. ‘It’s so much of a risk. I’d rather know that you’re protected instead of hoping that you are. And I know that makes me sound selfish, but I am. I am incredibly selfish when it comes to you.’

‘But Dawson…?’

Daemon looked at me. ‘Like I said, I’m incredibly selfish when it comes to you.'”

-Daemon-Katy, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Opal

Sigh, Katy is such a lucky girl.

-Angie

Leave a Reply

