Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L Armentrout Book Review !

Origin is the fourth book in the Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout which is a young adult paranormal novel that was published on August 27, 2013 by Entangled Publishing.

This book review might have some spoilers, especially if you haven’t read Obsidian, Onyx, or Opal. Don’t read ahead if you don’t want to be spoiled.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

This is my favorite book in the series right now, like the emotions and experiences they went through in this book was just so touching that I literally felt all of the emotions they were feeling.
I loved how in this book, we got to see both Katy and Daemon’s point of view. I especially loved reading from Daemon’s point of view, he’s so amazing honestly. I literally fangirl over him as if he’s actually not a fictional character.

The name Origin was chosen because it’s actually discussed in this book. We learn that Origins are children who have parents who are both an alien and a hybrid. These children are powerful and they can destroy anything in their wake with just their minds. Plus, they can read anyone’s minds which is freaking cool.

The last book ended with Katy and Daemon being seperated. Katy’s been taken away by the Daedalus and was taken to Area-51 where Bethany was kept.
In this place, they’re trying to cure cancer and other deadly diseases which I’m all for but the way they did this was horrible. They used the Luxens’ healing power in order to do this.
They tortured Katy emotionally and physcally which was awful. I hated the way they at times made Daemon experience the horrible things just so that he can heal more people.
Oh God, the ending of this book was crazy and I never thought all of this would go down like this. There was shocking deaths and new reveals. I just couldn’t take it all in.

this is a really big spoiler, please don’t read if you haven’t read this book.

..

.

KATY AND DAEMON GET MARRIED. Well, kind of. Since they got married with fake ID’s which doesn’t really count but it counted for them.
The way it happened and the way we got to see what Daemon was thinking before he proposed to her was beautiful. Especially since his thinking was happening in the shower. (;
I just needed to express my happiness of them finally getting married, their love for each other is just so beautiful it’s unreal.

..

.

Something I loved about the book was the fact that we got to see more of playful, happy Dee. I missed her, since for the last 2 books she was like really not herself. When she made an appearance in the middle of the book, I literally screamed. She’s one of my favorite characters in this book.

I also love the character developement of Daemon and Katy and also how their relationship has developed throughout the books. It’s like they understand each other more now and they’re more comfortable around each other.

Some of my new favorite characters from this book was Luc and Archer. They’re both Origins and I love when they read their minds and aren’t shy about it. I lowkey ship Dee with Archer. & when Katy told Dee that Archer could read her mind , Dee freaked out and said the whole time they were downstairs with him, she was imagining him naked the whole time.
I also loved how protective Daemon and Dawson were of Dee when it came to Archer especially Daemon. The small comments he made, made me literally laugh out loud.

Something I didn’t like was the deaths that Jennifer L Armentrout caused in this book. Even though they weren’t my favorite characters, I’m going to miss them.
Besides that, Jennifer did an amazing job with this book and I don’t think I’m ready to finish this series because I love it so much.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone.

Like the last book reviews in this series, I’m going to name 3 beautiful things that happen between Katy and Daemon that will make you want to read this book.

1.) He’s honest about being scared.

“…’I lied.’
‘About what? You being proud of me?’ I teased.
‘No. I’m always in awe of you, Kitten.’
My heart did a little trippy-trip dance as I opened my eyes.
He let out a shuddering breath. ‘I was terrified the whole time they had you and I didn’t know where you were. I was scared out of my mind that I would never see you again or get to hold you. And when I did see you? I was afraid I’d never hear you laugh again or see your beautiful smile. So, yeah, I lied. I was terrified. I’m still lying.’
‘Daemon…’
‘I’m scared shitless that I’ll never be able to make this up to you. That I’ll never be able to give you back your life and–‘”
                                                    -Daemon;Katy, Jennifer L. Armentrout

2.) He has no problem with nudity.
“‘What?’ he murmered lazily. ‘You’re modest now? Don’t really see the point.’
Heat swept down my throat and my skin prickled. Daemon kind of made sense. Modesty hadn’t been anywhere last night, but still. Early morning sunlight steamed in from the window. I tugged the sheet from his grip and covered myself.
He pouted, and it was ridiculous that he could do it and still manage to look sexy.
‘I’m trying to keep the mystery alive,’ I told him.
He chuckled, and the deep sound rolled through me. Shifting closer, he kissed the tip of my nose. ‘Mystery is overrated. I want to get to know every freckle and every curve on a person level.’
‘I think you did that last night.’
‘Nah.’ He shok his head. ‘That was just a meet and greet. I want to know their hopes and dreams.’
I laughed. ‘That’s ridiculous.’
‘It’s the truth.’ He rolled then, throwing the sheet off him and swinging his feet to the floor.
My eyes widened.
Naked as the day he was born, he stood fluidly, totally uncaring that every inch of him was displayed.

-Daemon;Katy- Jennifer L Armentrout

3.) He loves Katy unconditionally
“‘So I was thinking,’ I said, my mouth moving before my brain really caught up with it. ‘There’s eighty-six thousand, four hundred seconds in a day, right? There’s one thousand, four hundred and forty minutes in a day.’
Her brow knitted. ‘Okay. I’ll take your word for it.’
‘I’m right.’ I tapped my finger against my head. ‘A lot of useless knowledge up here. Anyway, are you following me? There’re one hundred and sixty-eight hours in a week. Around eighty-seven hundred and then some hours in a year, and you know what?’
She smiled. ‘What?’
‘I want to spend every second, every minute, every hour with you.’ Part of me couldn’t believe something that cheesy had come out of my mouth, but it was also so beautifully true. ‘I want a year’s worth of seconds and minutes with you. I want a decade’s worth of hours, so many that I can’t add them up.'”

-Daemon;Katy- Jennifer L Armentrout

Katy is such a lucky girl.

-Angie

One thought on “Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L Armentrout Book Review !

Leave a Reply

