City of Bones (Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare Book Review !

City of Bones is the first book in the Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare which is a young adult fantasy, paranormal-romance novel that was published on March 27, 2007 by Margaret K. McElderry Books.

..

.

★★★★ 4/5

Spoiler Free Book Review:

When 15 year old Clary Fray goes to an all age club named Pandemonium in New York City with her best friend Simon, she swears she sees 3 teenagers with strange tattoos and bizarre weapons. She tries to tell Simon, but he doesn’t see what she sees.
Clary sees a murder but can’t call the cops because the body disappears into thin air. She doesn’t know if the boy was a human or something else.

That’s Clary’s first encounter with Shadowhunters and also Jace Wayland, who’s a real confident jerk but isn’t so bad to look at.
After her mother’s been taken and Clary’s attacked by a demon, she goes on an adventure with the Shadowhunters. She learns what she and family are. She discovers everything she thought and was told by her mother was a lie.

This book was amazing and I can’t get over on the fact that Cassandra Clare’s writing is just amazingly written. It’s just so fun to read her books and it’ll make you feel like if you’re there with the crew which I love.

I think Clary is a pretty good main character, she’s strong-minded but also strong hearted. She also made me laugh at times at the remarks she’ll throw back at Jace.

One of my favorite characters will always be Simon. He’s so witty and sarcastic, he really made me smile in this book. I also love how loyal he was to Clary. Even when he was upset and heartbroken because of her, he’d still help her and give her information.

The characters and the discoveries they made are so amazing and shocking. I definitely recommend this book and even series!

….

..

.
SPOILER FILLED THOUGHTS

If you haven’t read City of Bones, don’t read ahead.

..

.

(For this part, I’m going to be reacting to moments the way I did when I first read this book)

The first thing I want to talk about is the fact that Jace and Clary’s relationship was so precious and you can tell they cared about each other without actually saying those exact words. They both depended on each other and helped each other improve themselves.
And then the end of the book happened and they discover that they have a “certain relationship” where if they kissed it’ll be just wrong and incest.

Something I didn’t really enjoy was the fact that they were betrayed by Hodge and his stupid bird. He seemed so loyal, but I hope that he comes back and at least try to explain/tell Jace, Isabelle and Alec what he did and why.

I absolutely loved Isabelle’s character (and can we talk about the fact that the actress who plays her in
the TV show is just drop dead gorgeous, so excited for the show!). Her personality was just amazing to me and she made me laugh. Especially when Jace and everyone else made fun of her cooking.
I loved how they were like this big happy family.

I didn’t like how Alec was a jerk to Clary but at times I let it pass since he was just looking out for his family especially Jace. I loved the fact that they put a homosexual male in this book. I haven’t read a lot of books with that concept so that makes me really happy to see.
& I kind of ship him with Magnus Bane(;

Jace Wayland’s character was so important in this book. I really loved him and his personality was everything to me. Most of the times, he’ll be this cocky jerk who has a comment for everything, but at times he would be sweet guy. Especially when he talked about his family, you can tell how important family is to him.
One of the favorite moment was on Clary’s birthday when they had that midnight picnic. I just loved that scene so much, it was just so perfect to me. But it kind of got ruined when Simon caught them kissing.

Talking about this made me realize, why didn’t Simon say happy birthday to Clary. Like I know he was heated at the moment but still.

I really loved this book and I’m so happy that I’m rereading this series.

-Angie

One thought on “City of Bones (Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare Book Review !

Leave a Reply

