To all the Boys I’ve Loved Before (#1) by Jenny Han Book Review !

To all the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the first book in a duology by Jenny Han which is a young adult, contemporary, romance novel that was published on April 15, 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers.

This book review might have some spoilers, so if you haven’t read this book don’t read ahead.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her before she passed away. These love letters are very unique because she doesn’t actually send them to anyone. It’s just a way for her to let everything out and basically say goodbye to all the boys she’s loved.
Her whole life flips around when her older sister Margo goes to college in Scotland and her letters gets sent out.
She gets confronted by the boys who recieved the letters, one being her older sister Margo’s ex boyfriend Josh and old friend Peter.
In order to get Josh and Peter’s ex girlfriend Gen, they start fake dating. What was first fake, suddendly becomes real and complicated.

That whole situation of the letters getting sent out was embarrassing and anxiety worthy. But besides that, this story was so cute.

The whole time while I was reading this book, I was lowkey on Team Peter. Like I didn’t know if I wanted to like him, but there was a point when they went to a yard sale that I was like okay I definitely like him.
He was actually one of my favorite characters from this book.

I really enjoyed the relationship between Lara Jean and her sisters, they call themselves “The Song Girls”. Just like Lara Jean, I’m the middle child of 2 sisters and we are definitely not as close as the sisters in this book. My favorite sister was Katherine AKA Kitty who was the youngest. She was just so honest and this cute little fashionista. She was around 9 years old and she was telling Lara Jean exactly what to wear and Lara will always go to her to do things to her hair. She was just a great part of this story.
The oldest sister Margo was too strict I felt. I understood the part of her taking responsibility for her sisters after their mother passed, but she was just bland. I also didn’t like how she never complimented Lara Jean, especially after her showing Kitty responsibiliy while Margo was away in College.
Something Margo and Lara Jean had in common though was the fact that they both wanted to be good examples for Kitty. But when Margo was with them, Margo tried to be the perfect daughter who never cried because she had to be strong. But when Lara Jean was the oldest sister in the house, she cried in front of Kitty, taught her responsibiliy and told her the truth even though it wasn’t the most perfect situation.

Another character I really enjoyed was Lara Jean’s best friend Chris. She was just so care-free and she didn’t care what anyone thought about her. Even though she was this party girl who slept with guys, she was still always there for Lara Jean when she needed her which made me so happy. I love best friends who are complete opposites but are so perfect together.

The main character Lara Jean really grew and developed throughout the book. In the beginning, she was the middle sister who always listened to what her older sister had to say and she never stood up for herself. But as the story progressed, she stood up for herself and she became her own person. She still appreciated her older sister’s advice and opinion but at the end, she’s the one who’s going to choose what happens next.

The book was exactly how I thought it would be. It was so cute and I can’t even count how many times I giggled on one hand.

The only thing I didn’t like was the ending. It was when the real problem was about to be solved and it literally ended with “Dear Peter…” like I wanted to know exactly what was on the letter and what happened after.
But it’s good that there’s a second book so we can finally know what happens.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone especially around this time of year. Especially because Jenny Han is an incredible writer.

-Angie

4 thoughts on “To all the Boys I’ve Loved Before (#1) by Jenny Han Book Review !

Leave a Reply

