City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare Book Review !

City of Ashes is the second book in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare which is young adult fantasy, paranormal romance novel that was published on March 25, 2008 by Margaret K. McElderry Books.

If you haven’t read the first book “City of Bones” you shouldn’t read this review (not even the spoiler free section) because you may find out something that happens in the first book.

—-

★★★★★ 5/5

Spoiler-Free Review:

After meeting the Shadowhunters and going through their first battle in the first book, Clary just wants to return to her “normal” life. But she realizes she can’t when she’s a demon-slaying shadowhunter, her mom’s in a deadly coma, and she can be able to see downworlders like vampires, werewolves, and faeries.

She also can’t get rid of her geeky best friend who’s becoming a little bit more than that, her hot newfound brother Jace and her evil demon-controlling father Valentine.

There’s been killings of different kind of downworlders children. They all think Valentine’s behind all of the killings and the crew; including Jace, Alec, Isabelle, Magnus, Simon, Luke, Maia and of course Clary go on different adventures and struggles in order to find out what’s going on.

The growth in this book especially in Jace is amazing. He realizes that whatever feelings he has for anyone or anything doesn’t matter when he’s surrounded by the people he loves especially his family.

The writing in this book is amazing and heart-warming; Cassandra always knows how to give all types of emotions to the readers.

I also really enjoyed the new characters just as much as I enjoyed the growth of the original characters.

If you’ve read City of Bones, I defintely recommend you to read this one and keep going in the series. I’ve been rereading this series and even though I’m not done yet, I see myself rereading it in the future also.

—-

SPOILER FILLED THOUGHTS

if you haven’t read City of Ashes don’t read ahead.

..

.

Okay, so the first thing that I want to talk about is the fact that the sexual tension between Clary and Jace was so real and I know they hated the fact that they just found that they’re brother and sister.

I didn’t like how Clary basically used Simon in order to have a reason not to try anything with Jace. And rereading this book made me realize how much I didn’t like them together. I like them better when they’re just best friends.

I also loved how everyone noticed the connection between Jace and Clary especially the people who aren’t around them as much. I also loved their small forbidden kisses they’ve shared in order to get out of some situations.

Talking about other ships, Magnus and Alec are literally everything to me in this book. And that one scene we got of Alec realizing that Magnus needs him during the battle. And I also loved the connection Simon and Maia had, I don’t know like I found myself smiling throughout their scenes together.

Jace went through a lot in this book once everyone finds out that the evil Valentine is his father. He got kicked out of his home and no one trusted him and he always found himself in situations where he’ll be in jail and in need of his family to rescue him. Everyone always found him guilty, but he never is.

Simon also goes through a biiig change. He becomes a vampire and he has to learn how to cope with not going outside. When I first read this book, I didn’t expect that to happen. Something that made me laugh was even though he becomes a downworlder, Jace keeps calling him “mundane”

Jace and Simon bump heads all the time but I love the parts where they show that they actually care for each other. I mean they would never say it but I’m happy that they showed it.

I just really enjoyed this book and I think it gets better and better.

-Angie

2 thoughts on “City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare Book Review !

Leave a Reply

