City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare Book Review !

City of Glass is the third book in The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare which is a young adult, fantasy, paranormal romance that was published on March 24, 2009 by Margaret K. McElderry Books.

If you haven’t read City of Bones or City of Ashes, you shouldn’t read this review (not even the spoiler-free section) because it may contain spoilers for the first 2 books.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

Spoiler-Free Review:

In order to save her mother Jocelyn, Clary takes an illegal trip to the City of Glass (Alicante) which is the original home for the Shadowhunters. She doesn’t have the permission of entering the city which is against the law and also against Jace’s wishes.

Also, Simon’s dragged to the City of Glass and is sent to the downworlder/traiter prision by the Shadowhunter council; who are deeply suspicious of him because he’s the only vampire who can walk in the daylight.

Clary finds out so many secrets and stories about her family and parent’s past. She meets mysterious Shadowhunter “friend” Sebastion. Valentine’s still trying to destroy the shadowhunters in order to make more pure shadowhunters to bring back the “old glory” as he would say.

Feelings and emotions come out this book.

..

.

The more I read these books, I fall more and more in love with the characters and their relationships with each other.

They all get closer by the end of the book and they all evolve as better people after going through a struggle of knowing exactly who they are.

The action in this book is phenominal and we think people die left and right but most of the time they come back somehow. So, it gives you a heart attack and then when you realize they’re alive; your heart is happy again.

If you haven’t read any of the books in this series, you really should.

—–

—-

SPOILER-FILLED THOUGHTS

if you haven’t read City of Bones, City of Ashes, or City of Glass, please don’t read ahead. (you’ve been warned)

..

.

Okay the first thing I want to talk about is Sebastion. The first time I read this book and didn’t know that Clary and Jace were actually not related; I didn’t feel disgusted by their attraction and love for each other. But when Clary and Sebastion kissed in this book, it was just horrible. Me being a rereader, I just wanted to scream at Clary. Like this time you’re actually kissing your brother! Gross.

But I did love this book with all of my heart, the action and the twist and turns of this book was amazing and the first time I read this book, I was on the edge of my chair throughout the whole thing. I felt like no one was safe and Cassandra Clare could just kill off everyone.

But I love how the shadowhunters and downworlders create an alliance in order to fight against Valentine with help of Clary.

Also, this is one of my favorite books because my ships were sailing in this book. #Clace of course, they’re my number one and they always will be. #Sizzy; they kind of Maia in the way a bit but I don’t care but this book shows some Sizzy progress and I couldn’t be any more happier. Most importantly, #Malec; this book did amazing things for this ship and I’m so happy. For their scenes, I couldn’t help but feel so happy. Gah, I love them.

I adore Jace’s character in this book. He’s so badass but he’s so vulnerable and confused when it comes to Clary. Like I’m just in love with him.

I can’t wait for the tv show and hopefully they don’t ruin it.

-Angie

Leave a Reply

