Opposition (Lux #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout Book Review !

Opposition is the 5th and final book in the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout which is a young-adult, paranormal novel that was published on August 4, 2014 by Entangled Teens.

This book review might contain spoilers especially if you haven’t read Obsidian, Onyx, Opal and Origin.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

 

Katy’s life has changed since they exposed the Luxens to the whole world and the Luxen has landed on Earth and are taking human forms of innocent people.

Daemon will do anything for the ones he loves, even betrayal. Dee realizes there’s more to her than running around with the Luxens, maybe love. Dawson realizes he has to keep himself alive for his and Bethany’s sake.

Luc? Well Luc is still a teenage bad ass who orders around people who are way older than him.

 

This whole adventure throughout the whole book. Also, this story is told in both Daemon and Katy’s point of view so it’s really interesting to know what they’re both thinking about the same situation/event.

 

if you haven’t read this book yet, I’d advice you not to read ahead because there’s SPOILERS.

….

..

.

 

Alright, so here I’m just going to share some thoughts that I had throughout the book.

 

First of all, I don’t want to say who dies specifically but if you read the book, you know who I’m talking about. But when it happened, I cried because of the grief everyone in the book felt. Like, I kept rereading it because I’m like this can’t be happening right now after everything they’ve been through.

Also, they brought up the note that I think he wrote to her in class in Onyx but I’m not completely sure. But we still don’t know what the note said and it stresses me out. Jennifer , tell us what was in the note!

 

Dawson and Bethany had a babygirl named Ashley, she was named after Ash which made me happy. She’s so cute and I’m hoping one day Daemon and Katy have their own little Origin baby and we see a book of that someday.

Talking about Dawson and Daemon, in the beginning we learn that the new Luxen are able to control their minds but they couldn’t control Dawson and Daemon because they were holding on to the love they have for Katy and Bethany. I just thought that was so cute.

 

Also, Daemon’s so pervy. Like, when we’re in his point of view he’s always thinking about sex or talking about sex and it’s like “Really Daemon? You’re in the middle of a war and you’re thinking about a naked Katy?” but it’s still funny and I still love him with all my heart.

 

I still ship Dee and Archer with all my heart.

 

The last thing I want to say is I love how the Luxen and Arum come together to fight the dick versions of Luxens. And the ruler of the Arums Lotho was a dick but he actually made me laugh and ended up not being so bad. We also saw the Arum Hunter that we met at Luc’s club and he’s in love with a human also which was weird to see from the Luxens’ point of view.

 

Just like the other book reviews for this story, I’m going to show 3 reasons why I love Daemon Black using his quotes. (It’s sad to think that this will be the last time)

 

1.) He’s so in love with Katy and isn’t afraid to show it.

“Kat.” He uttered my name like it was some kind of prayer, and then he pressed a kiss against the skin behind my ear. “I broke every rule of my kind to heal you and keep you with me. I … burned down an entire city to keep you safe. I’ve killed for you. Did you think I’d forget what you mean to me? That anything in this world— in any world— would be stronger than my love for you?”

-Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

2.) He’s also jealous and needy but it’s cute when it’s him.

“It’s not like I’m going to run up and hug him.” His expression turned bland. “I’d sure hope not. I might get jealous.” “You’d get jealous if she hugged a tree,” Archer tossed out. “Maybe.” Daemon coasted to a stop in a parking space behind the car. “I’m needy like that.”

-Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

3.) He’s so sarcastic at the wrong times.

“We’re not here for dinner,” Daemon said, voice as cold as the room, and I winced. “Nor are we dessert. We’ve come here for your help to fight the invading Luxen.”

Wow. I looked at Daemon, sort of proud of him that he even uttered those words without a hint of sarcasm.

But Lotho looked like he might choke on the drink he just took. “Help?”

There was a rumbling of laughter all around us that echoed off the walls and caused my heart to pump too fast.

“Yes”. Daemon tipped his chin up as his smiled. “Help. It’s a pretty easy word. I could give you the definition if you like.”

Whelp, there went the sarcasm-free Daemon. The glass shattered in Lotho’s hand.

Daemon frowned as shards of glass tinkled to the floor “And that is why we can’t have nice things.”

I choked on my snicker, because I was pretty sure if I did laugh, the Arum might decide to snack on us.

-Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

Oh, how I love Daemon Black.

 

-Angie

Leave a Reply

