12 Books I’m Planning on Reading in 2016 !

I’m going to be listing a stand alone book that I’m going to read in every month in 2016 that I’ve been dying to read. These are mostly contemporary novels that I’ve heard great things about.

 

it's. nice. outside

1.) It’s. Nice. Outside by: Jim Kokoris

I’ve mentioned this book in my Most Anticipated Releases of December 2015 and I’ve been dying to read it since. It follows a 50 year old man who’s an ex-husband, ex-baseball player, ex-author, ex-high school english, etc. He has 3 kids, 2 daughters and a 19 year old son Ethan. One of his daughters is getting married and the whole family’s coming together again. I’m just really excited to see family moments in this book.

It’s. Cold. Outside -Goodreads

 

P.S. I Still Love You

2.) P.S I Still Love You (#2) by: Jenny Han

I’ve read the first novel in this companion novel, To All to the Boys I’ve Loved Before  and I’ve loved it with all my heart and it was just a heart-warming book that just gives you all the right feels and it’s just so cute. I know there’s new love and confusion and also a lot of sister love which I really enjoyed in the first book.

P.S. I Still Love You – Goodreads

 

The Book Thief

3.) The Book Thief by: Markus Zusak

I’ve heard this story is really sad and since it’s set in World War II, I wouldn’t expect less. It follows a young girl who’s a foster child who steals books. She learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors especially with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he’s marched into to Dachau.

The Book Thief- Goodreads

 

Fangirl

4.) Fangirl by: Rainbow Rowell

I know this is going to be relatable because I’m a fangirl of many things and I’ve written my share of fanfictions. This book follows the main character Cath who’s in love with Simon Snow (who can blame her? I’ve loved Simon Snow in Carry On) writes fanfictions and her life basically surrounds Simon Snow. Her twin sister Wren moves away from the fandom as she becomes older but Cath doesn’t. When college comes along, Wren decides that she doesn’t want to be roommates with her so now Cath is on her own.

Fangirl – Goodreads

 

Confess

5.) Confess by: Colleen Hoover

I’ve read my first Colleen Hoover book in 2015 which was Ugly Love and I was in love with it so I’m excited to read the rest of her books. This book follows a girl named Auburn and she has her whole life planned. She goes to an art studio in search for a job and there she meets the worker Owen and she didn’t expect to be attracted to him. But, Owen’s keeping secrets from her and all he has to do is confess and he won’t lose her.

Confess – Goodreads

 

Obsession

6.) Obsession by: Jennifer L. Armentrout

I heard this story is the Adult Version of Obsidian. This book follows an Arum named Hunter who features in the Lux Series and I really enjoyed his character in those books as a side character so I’m excited to read a whole book of him.

Obsession – Goodreads

 

7.) Isla and the Happily Ever After by: Stephanie Perkins

I’ve been meaning to read this book since I finished reading Lola and the Boy Next Door and also I was scared that it wasn’t going to be as good as the first two but I’m just going to go for it and read it. Isla has a crush on her school’s cartoonist Josh. They have an encounter during the summer in Manhattan but they start Senior Year in Paris and they start to go through the struggles that every teen relationship goes through like family problems and figuring out what colleges they want to go to.

Isla and the Happily Ever After – Goodreads

 

This Lullaby

8.) This Lullaby by: Sarah Dessen

I decided that I’m going to try Sarah Dessen again because the first story I read by her was The Moon and More and I really didn’t like it. Hopefully, this one is better. The main character Remy doesn’t mess around when it comes to relationships and she’s learned everything she knows about them by her mother who’s working on her 5th husband. But then she meets Dexter who changes her perspective on relationships.

This Lullaby – Goodreads

 

Speak

9.) Speak by: Laurie Harse Anderson

This book seems really interesting and it’s mostly going to be a fast read because it’s a small book. This book follows a girl named Melinda who busted at end of the year party by calling the cops and now her old friends don’t talk to her anymore. The safest place for her is her head, so she stops speaking and that’s not even safe because she can’t stop thinking about something that happened at that party that night.

Speak – Goodreads

 

Darkling

10.) Darkling by: K.M. Rice

This book is supposed to be really spooky but it’s a really short book so it’ll be fast to read. I don’t really know what’s it’s about, all I’m getting from the synoposis is that it’s midsummer and something’s upset the balance of the woods.

Darkling – Goodreads

 

Thirteen Reasons Why

11.) Thirteen Reasons Why by: Jay Asher

I’ve been wanting to read this book for a long time now. In this book, Clay comes home from school and finds a box of tapes from his classmate/crush Hannah who committed suicide 2 weeks earlier. These tapes explain the 13 reasons on why she committed suicide and Clay’s one of them. This story has a deeper topic in it but I’m really excited to read this one.

Thirteen Reasons Why – Goodreads

 

My True Love Gave To Me

12.) My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by: Stephanie Perkins, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pena, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor, Kiersten White

This book is 12 different short love stories told by different famous authors. I’m excited to read this one because many of my favorites authors are in this one.

My True Gave To Me – Goodreads

 

-Angie

 

One thought on “12 Books I’m Planning on Reading in 2016 !

Leave a Reply

