December 2015 Wrap Up & January 2016 TBR !

                                                December Wrap Up

 

I wish I read more books this month but I’ve been spending a lot of time with family. But I read really amazing books in this month so I’m really happy about that.

 

carry on

1.) Carry On by: Rainbow Rowell

★★★★★ 5/5

I read this book without reading Fangirl, so I had no idea of the concept of this book but I loved it with all my heart. This book is in my top 3 favorite books of all time. There were so many scenes and twist and turns that I never expected.

The characters were so amazing and I loved the whole idea of hving this boarding school for magicians who called themselves Mages. (I’ve been told this book is a lot like Harry Potter)

If you haven’t read this book yet, you should really get into it and you’ll love every second of it. Also, I’ve always loved the way Rainbow Rowell writes her books so that’s probably something that I definitely enjoyed as well. (I love Baz, even when he was being a dick)

if you want to know more about my thoughts on Carry On, click the link: Carry On – Book Review

 

i was here

2.) I Was Here by: Gayle Forman

★★★★★ 5/5

This story was so amazing and I’m not ashamed to say that I cried. Gayle Forman did it again with this book. This story was so heartbreaking and the main character Cody was so determined to find out what exactly caused her best friend Megan to kill herself.

The characters were so perfect to me and I was so scared at the concequences that were going to happen after Cody decides to do something, if you’ve read the book you know what I’m talking about.

I loved this book and I recommend it to anyone who doesn’t mind reading books with suicide in it.

 

A Christmas Carol

3.) A Christmas Carol by: Charles Dickens

★★★★.5 4.5/5

This story is one of my favorite christmas stories/movies ever. I read this book this month in class because we’re learning about the Industrial Revolution in my History class and my English and History class are kind of combined with what we learn.

I really enjoyed reading this book because I’ve never read the whole original thing before. I grew up with the story of the old mean guy Scrooge but I feel it more now that I’ve actually read it instead of watching all of the movies.

 

winter

4.) Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by: Marissa Meyer

★★★★★ 5/5

This was a perfect ending to this series, I’m crying because it’s over but my heart is so happy because the feels I got from this book was everything. The action in this book was really intense and I would have to take breaks in between reading just because I would scare that something bad could happen.

This book had 823 pages so a lot of stressful things happened but the cute romantic moments made up for it.

Winter was such a likeable character. She was really random and had awful hallucinations but she was so cute. & I loved how Jacin was series most of the time but with her, he’ll be teasing her and more comfortable.

Levana was still evil as ever.

I didn’t know I could possible ship Cress and Thorne more before this book. I just loved this book, definitely one of my favorites in the series. If you haven’t read this series yet, you really should. It’s so amazing.

if you want to know more about my thoughts on Winter, click the link: Winter – Book Review

 

Forget You

5.) Forget You by: Jennifer Echols

★★★.5 3.5/5

This story was hot but it was more stressful than that. This isn’t the first book I’ve read by her but it wasn’t my favorite. One thing that bothered me throughout the whole book was the main character Zoey because she was so dumb sometimes. Like she gets into a car accident and she doesn’t remember anything that happened besides the fact that her and her enemy Doug were being closer than usual and instead of asking everyone what happened that night she decided to ignore it. But I feel like Doug’s character made up for it, I definitely enjoyed reading scenes with him in it. I also gave it a higher rating than intended to because the topic of suicide is metioned and I think it was handled right. Also, I could somehow relate to Zoey, I wouldn’t do most of the things she did but I can understand somehow her family life.

 

 

                                                        January TBR

 

I don’t think I’m going to be doing a lot of reading this month because I have midterms this month.

 

1.) City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by: Cassandra Clare

I’m already reading this book but I don’t think this I’m going to be able to finish it today because of the holiday. But I love that I’m rereading this book series because it’s one of my favorites.

 

2.) Of Beast and Beauty by: Stacey Jay

I’ve been dying to read a Beauty and the Beast retelling because it’s always been one of my favorite fairytales and I’m halfway through this book. I’m loving it so far. The world is so different and it’s an amazing read. I can’t wait to watch the characters grow.

 

3.) It’s. Cold. Outside by: Jim Kokoris

This was number one in the list I made of the books I want to read in 2016 so I’m planning on reading this one this month.

 

I hope everyone had a great holiday. Also, I hope you guys have a great New Years!

 

-Angie

One thought on “December 2015 Wrap Up & January 2016 TBR !

Leave a Reply

