Recommending Contemporary Books !

I really enjoy reading Contemporary books. It’s one of my favorite genres. I’m going to name 10 contemporary books that I’ve enjoyed reading and that I recommend to everyone who loves reading them.

 

anna and the french kiss

1.) Anna and the French Kiss by: Stephanie Perkins

Oh my God, this story is so cute and I couldn’t stop giggling from the beginning to end. This has got to be my favorite contemporary book of all time. This story follows Anna Oliphant who just finds out she’s going to spend her senior year at a boarding school in Paris and she isn’t exactly thrilled about. Until she meets Etienne St. Clair who’s cute, charming, and smart. Also, he has a serious girlfriend. Her journey of fitting in and falling in love is so beautiful. & how can you not love this book when Etienne St. Clair is in it.

Anna and the French Kiss – Goodreads

 

my life next door

2.) My Life Next Door by: Huntley Fitzpatrick

I read this book in 2013 and I just remember loving every second of this book. This book follows Samantha Reed who was raised with her sister and her politic mother. She would stay up all night sitting on the roof watching the family next door “The Garretts”. They’re nothing like the Reeds, they’re loud and the house is filled with a bunch of children. One day, one of the sons Jase catches her watching them and they start to get to know each other. The Garretts embraces Samantha and she loves spending time with them. This story was so cute, Jase was an amazing character and I loved all the scenes that included both Jase and Samantha.

My Life Next Door – Goodreads

 

eleanor and park

3.) Eleanor & Park by: Rainbow Rowell

This was the first book I read by Rainbow Rowell and I absolutely loved it. It hurt my heart in the best and worst way at the same time. It dealt with subjects that I wasn’t really used to reading. This story is about 2 misfits named Eleanor and Park. Everyone makes fun of Eleanor because of her big red curly hair, her clothes, and she isn’t the most skinniest person at her school. Park is half asian and he loves reading comic books. One day, Eleanor sits with Park on the bus and reads his comic books over his shoulder. This starts to become a routine and they become closer to each other. In this book you switch between both of their point of views. I also enjoyed how we go to see both of their very different family life. This book is so cute and I definitely recommend it.

Eleanor & Park – Goodreads

 

looking for alaska

4.) Looking For Alaska by: John Green

This is my favorite John Green book. I loved all of the characters in this book and Alaska was this fierce girl who spoke her mind and I just loved reading about her. This book follows a boy named Miles “Pudge” Halter who doesn’t have a lot of friends and who’s obsessed with famous last words. He ends up going Culver Creek Boarding School where his whole life is changed and he meets the fascinating Alaska Young. This book was filled with adventures and love. This book obviously has emotional parts because it is a John Green book. If I can recommend any book besides The Fault In Our Stars (which is amazing also), I would recommend this one.

Looking For Alaska – Goodreads

 

since youve been gone

5.) Since You’ve Been Gone by: Morgan Matson

I actually really loved this book and every character had a little something that you just loved. This book follows a girl named Emily who’s best friend Sloane dissapears and just leaves her a bucket list of the 13 things Sloane wants her to do during the summer. Emily’s always depended on Sloane so without her, she was lost. Throughout the story, Emily starts to become more independent on her own while trying to look for her best friend. She also falls in love in the process. This book is so amazing and it’s really cute.

Since You’ve Been Gone- Goodreads

 

i was here

6.) I Was Here by: Gayle Forman

This book was so sad but I still loved it. It was the kind of book where you know what happened but you just wish it didn’t happen. This book follows Cody and her best friend Meg just committed suicide. The thing that bothers Cody the most is that you couldn’t stop it from happening because Meg didn’t show any signs of her wanting to end her life. The last months Meg lived, Cody and her kind of went seperate ways because they went to different colleges. So, when she does kill herself, Cody goes to the town she was in and talks to her friends in order to find answers. I definitely recommend this book if you can handle suicide and suicidal thoughts.

I Was Here – Goodreads

 

to all the boys ive loved before

7.) To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by: Jenny Han

Oh my God, this book was so cute and I can’t even tell you how many times I giggled and fangirled throughout this whole book. This book follows Lara Jean and she has loved many guys in her life. In order for her to get over her feelings, she writes them all letters but doesn’t actually send it to anyone. She just puts them in a box under her bed. One day, one of the boys she used to love comes over to her and brings up certain things that she specifically wrote in her letters. She goes home and finds that all of her letters have been sent. The whole situation was hilarious and embarrassing at the same time. It has an amazing love story and it shows the importance of sister relationships. I also really enjoyed being in Lara Jean’s mind.

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Goodreads

 

the duff

8.) The Duff: The Designated Ugly Fat Friend by: Kody Keplinger

This book was amazing and the movie is nothing like it so if you thought the movie was corny, the book isn’t. The main character Bianca is going through a lot in her family life and then one day at an underage club, Wes tells her that she’s the Duff in her group of friends and she throws a coke at his face. But her life at home becomes even worse and she finds herself kissing him. They start to have an enemies-with-benefit relationship that turns into something more. This book is amazing and I’ve reread this book so many times, it’s unreal.

The Duff – Goodreads

 

the unwritten rule

9.) The Unwritten Rule by: Elizabeth Scott

This book was really cute and I’ve never really read a book that has the subject of being in love with your best friend’s boyfriend. Sarah has always had a crush on Ryan and then her best friend Brianna starts dating him and she starts hiding her feelings for him by ignoring him. But one day, something happens and her feelings for him resurface. Sarah is torn between her best friend and the guy she’s had feelings for, for years. This book was really cute and it felt like the characters were real throughout the entire book. I was able to play out every scene in my head.

The Unwritten Rule – Goodreads

 

lola and the boy next door

10.) Lola and the Boy Next Door by: Stephanie Perkins

Oh my God, this book was so cute. It’s not my favorite one compared to Anna and the French Kiss but it was still one of the cutest books I’ve ever read. It follows a girl named Lola who’s in love with constume designing and she dresses like no one else does. She’s raised with her fathers in a normal home who doesn’t appreciate Lola dating a guy who’s older than her. Her neighbors Cricket and Calliope return back to the neighborhood and Lola and Cricket start to reconnect. Ugh, so cute.

Lola and the Boy Next Door – Goodreads

 

-Angie

One thought on “Recommending Contemporary Books !

Leave a Reply

