January Wrap Up & February TBR 2016 !

                                           January Wrap Up !

 

City of Lost Souls

1.) City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by: Cassandra Clare

                                                           ★★★★★        5/5

This book was really intense and if you’ve read this book, you know why. But, Jace and Clary were absolutely perfect in this book even though they’ve been through a lot of craziness.

I also loved Isabelle in this book just because we were able to see her vulnerable and confused about love and it was so cute. #Sizzy all the freaking way. I can’t wait to see them on screen together.

I really loved this book and the action. Also, I enjoyed kind of seeing more of the opposing side of the war. Like being with Sebastian for most of the book, you kind of feel sorry for him in the beginning and then he does something that’s very wrong and just ridiculous.

Also, avoid page 511 man. This is my second time reading this book and my heart still broke when it came to that page, I saw it coming but it still hurt.

if you want to know more of my thoughts on City of Lost Souls, click the link: City of Lost Souls – Book Review

 

things fall apart

2.) Things Fall Apart (The African Trilogy #1) by: Chinua Achebe

                                                                      ★★    2/5

I had to read this book for school during Christmas break and it was kind of a downer during the holiday season. I didn’t really enjoy this book, I felt like it was speeding through too much. It was like 8 years in 209 pages it was too much.

Also, the ending of this book was dissapointing and I didn’t expect that at all.

 

Of Beast and Beauty

3.) Of Beast and Beauty by: Stacey Jay

                                               ★★★★.5   4.5/5

I really enjoyed this book probably because it’s a retelling of The Beauty and the Beast which was my favorite fairytale when I was younger because Belle also loved books. I really enjoyed learning about this world, it was like nothing I ever read before.

I also enjoyed the fact that in the beginning you don’t really know who the beast or the beauty is because of the way they describe themselves. I can’t say much about this book without spoiling it, but you should definitely read if you’re into fantasy, dystopia and retellings.

if you want to know more of my thoughts on Of Beast and Beauty, click the link: Of Beast and Beauty – Book Review

 

this song will save your life

4.) This Song Will Save Your Life by: Leila Sales

                                                         ★★★.5    3.5/5

This book was alright. I loved the character developement in this book. It went from a girl who was suicidal and felt alone even when she was surrounded by people to a girl who loves being who she is and is in love with Djing.

The main character made a lot of decisions that would stress me out throughout the book. But I think the side characters made it up for me because they were so funny and supportive.

You really got to see her struggling to find herself and it was a beautiful process but something about the book just didn’t allow me to give it more than a 3.5 out of 5 rating.

 

The 5th Wave

5.) The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave #1) by: Rick Yancey

                                                                    ★★★★★       5/5

I read this book in 3 days because my friend and I decided to watch the movie when it comes out but it wasn’t hard to do because I could not put the book down. There was a point where I was in the halfway mark in the book and when I looked up I totally forgot where I was because I was devoured in the story.

I loved every second of this book and I loved all of the characters. Especially Cassie, Evan, Ben, and Ringer. I loved the whole idea of the plotline. The only other alien book that I’ve read was the Lux Series and these types of aliens are really different than them.

This book was phenominal and I recommend it to everyone who hasn’t read it. (Hopefully the movie doesn’t let me down)

if you want to know more of my thoughts on The 5th Wave , click the link: The 5th Wave – Book Review

 

Vanishing Girls

6.) Vanishing Girls by: Lauren Oliver

                                                         ★★★★   4/5

I really enjoyed this book. The ending messed with me a little bit and for a while I was confused with the whole idea of it. But this book just kept me guessing which I liked. I liked the background stories of the different characters. Also, I think it had the perfect comical relief in spite of it being a thriller and mystery novel.

I can’t say too much about the book itself without spoiling it but I gave it a 4 out of 5 because it was kind of slow at some parts and some things kind of went too fast between scenes which confused me. But the story line is amazing. I heard mixed reviews about this book but I actually really enjoyed it.

 

it's. nice. outside

7.) It’s. Cold. Outside by: Jim Kokoris

                                                            ★★★★  4/5

I actually really loved this book. It had everything a book is supposed to have; lovable characters, humor, heartbreak. Just everything. It was actually one of my favorite books I’ve read this year so far. The only thing that didn’t let me give it a 5/5 is the fact that I couldn’t actually relate to the things that were going on throughout the book because I’m still a teenager in high school. But besides that, the book was phenominal, it made my heart hurt and it just reached my expectations. I really recommend this book.

 

 

      February TBR !

 

I had a really good reading month in January which makes me really excited. I’m still going to the 3 books that I’m definitely going to read this month.

 

 

1.) City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by: Cassandra Clare

This is the last book in the Mortal Instruments Series and I’m going to finally finish rereading this series. It’s been a fun adventure rereading this series and I’m excited to finish it so I can read the other series by Cassandra Clare.

 

2.) P.S. I Still Love You (#2) by: Jenny Han

I’ve read “To all the Boys I’ve Loved Before” before and it was the cutest book I think I ever read. I’m really excited to see where the characters left off and I want to see the world from Lara Jean’s eyes again because she was so funny.

 

3.) The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) by: Rick Riordan

This is the next book series I want to reread. I loved reading it the first time around and I know I’m going to love reading it the second time around. & I’ll be writing a book review for all the books kind of like I did with the Mortal Instruments.

 

-Angie

 

 

Leave a Reply

