March Wrap Up & April TBR 2016!

I had a pretty good reading month even though it was stressful and I had a lot of homework, research papers and projects.

 

    March Wrap Up

 

The Martian

1.) The Martian by: Andy Weir

★★★★ 4/5

I read this book in one weekend because my Earth Science teachers wants to show us the movie and I refuse to watch the movie without reading the book and I don’t regret reading it and I really wish I read this book a long time ago.

This book made me laugh most of the time, like even the whole idea of a man being stuck on mars is not funny at all but Mark was an overly sarcastic and funny character. & him being alone for so long made him even more and more funny.

I gave it a 4/5 instead of a 5/5 because a lot of terms confused me and that happened many times. But besides that, I loved every part of this book. & also the ending was kind of rushed.

I really recommend this book if you haven’t read it.

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “The Martian”, click The Martian – Book Review

 

The Titan's Curse

2.) The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3) by: Rick Riordan

★★★★★ 5/5

This has got to be in my Top 3 books in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. This was a great read and I only read it in a couple of days. I’m happy I decided to reread this series because it’s giving me nostalgic of my elementary school days.

I loved the gods introduced to us in this book especially Apollo. He’s one of my favorites. Also, we were introduced to the Hunters and Zoe Nightshade which I loved.

The first time I read this book, I had no idea that it was going to end like this. This always happens when they go on a quest, they return home and celebrate and everyone’s happy and proud of one another and then out of nowhere somebody opens up new shit that was so unexpected.

If you haven’t read these books, you definitely should!

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “The Titan’s Curse”, click The Titan’s Curse – Book Review

 

All the Bright Places

3.) All the Bright Places by: Jennifer Niven

★★★★★ 5/5

This book was so amazing and by the end of it, I was in tears and my heart was not intact. Everything about this book; the friendship and the love between Finch and Violet was so beautiful . They saved each other and it was just too much.

This book deals with suicidal thoughts and family problems but through it all, you have hope and faith that this is right and whatever happens, happens.

I fell in love with Theodore Finch from the beginning. & if I knew anyone like him in real life, I would do anything to save him.

If you’re looking for a heart wrenching contemporary, you should really read this one. You won’t regret it.

 

 

Maybe One Day

4.) Maybe One Day by: Melissa Kantor

★★★★ 4/5

This story was so heartbreaking. It felt so real and it made me rethink everything.

The thought of having your best friend sick to the level of sickness that Olivia was in is insane to me. The way that Zoe reacted to the problem was really relatable because it’ll be the same way I would react to the situation.

The most important parts of the story was the friendship and Zoe’s love of dance and how it united her with Olivia.

The love in this story wasn’t the main focus but it was still cute. I really enjoyed Calvin’s character. Also, Jake who’s Olivia’s older brother and Calvin’s best friend. I loved the moments he had with Zoe, it was like a brother-sister relationship. I was going to write a book review for it but I realized I wouldn’t have been able to write a lot for it.

 

 

Not that Kind of Girl

5.) Not That Kind of Girl by: Siobhan Vivian

★★★ 3/5

I liked the whole aspect of feminism in this book. But I gave it a 3/5 because the love story in this book wasn’t as interesting as I thought it was going to be and also the main character got annoying at times.

But I really enjoyed the idea of everything in this book. Also, I loved the side characters especially Connor. He was really sweet and he made me smile.

That’s all I could really say about this book

 

 

The Book Thief

6.) The Book Thief by: Markus Zusak

★★★★★ 5/5

This book made my heart hurt. Like it hurts. I enjoyed this book and all of the characters meant so much to me in different ways. The whole WW2 subject makes me emotional so going into this book I knew that I would be crying. I wasn’t wrong, this book literally ripped my heart out.

In the beginning of the book, I was confused about who was narratoring the book because they were saying how interested he was in Liesal and I was confused like I thought it could’ve been like a German officer. But my friend who has read this book, told me that death was narrator throughout the entire book which made so much sense.

I’ve been watching a lot of WW2 movies so that’s why I decided to grab this book and I’m happy I did. I can finally watch the book thief movie which I heard was good.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who doesn’t mind reading a sad book about WW2.

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “The Book Thief”, click The Book Thief – Book Review

 

The Battle of Labyrinth

7.) The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #4) by: Rick Riordan

★★★★★ 5/5

This story was so intense. Rereading this book was actually everything to me. I felt the Annabeth and Percy feels in this book and I couldn’t even complain. The story’s coming to aclose soon which makes me upset. I haven’t read this book since middle school so it feels like I’m just reading since it’s been so long.

There wasn’t a Poseidon moment until the end and those are always my favorites. But when he showed up at the house on Percy’s 15th birthday in his summer wear, I just loved him even more. This is my favorite Poseidon appearance in the series.

The character were amazing in this book and I was really excited to have more of Tyson in this book!

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “The Battle of the Labyrinth”, click The Battle of Labyrinth – Book Review

 

          April TBR

Even though I read 7 books, I’m only going to tell you guys the 3 books that I’m definitely reading and writing a book review on.

 

1.) Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles #0.5 , 0.6, 1.5, 3.1, 3.6) by: Marissa Meyer

I’m currently reading this book, I’m about halfway done so I’ll be done with this book by the first week of April. I’m loving this book and it’s making me miss the Lunar Chronicles. Like I just want to reread the series but I know I can’t because I have so many other books to read.

 

2.) Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) by: Cassandra Clare

I’m also currently reading this book and I’m going to finish this book this weekend. I’m on the last 5 chapters of this book right now. I’m loving this book and I actually haven’t read this book before, like I read Clockwork Angel when it came out but I never moved along. I wish I did.

 

3.) Fangirl by: Rainbow Rowell

I’m really excited to read this book because I’ve been dying to. I heard it’s really relatable especially if you’re a fangirl yourself.

 

-Angie

One thought on “March Wrap Up & April TBR 2016!

Leave a Reply

