The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5) by Rick Riordan Book Review !

The Last Olympian is the fifth and final book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan which is a young adult fantasy novel that includes Greek Mythology that was published on May 5, 2009 by Disney-Hyperion Books.

 

I’m going to include a spoiler-free section and a spoiler-filled section.

 

If you haven’t read The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s curse, and The Battle of Labyrinth, I recommend that you don’t read ahead because the spoiler-free secion might’ve spoilers for books 1-4 in the series.

 

….

 

 

..

 

.

★★★★★ 5/5

 

Spoiler-Free:

 

This is the last book in the series and it was such a great finish to the story.

Half-bloods have been preparing for the war against the Titans for a couple of books now and now it’s finally here. Krono’s army is stronger than they used to be becasuse the Titan’s power grew as Kronos recruited gods and half-bloods.

The Olympians try to contain the monster Typhon while Kronos tries to take over New York City where Mount Olympus stands unguarded.

Percy Jackson and his friends try to stop the Lord of Time. Percy also has to focus on his 16th birthday that’s coming up.

 

This book was definitely my favorite and it was the best ending that I could ask for.

My ship was sailing and it was more than I could ask for. The battle was really intense and stressful while also being heartbreaking.

If you haven’t gotten to this because you’re not ready for it to end, I recommend that you do because you won’t regret it.

..

.

Spoiler-Filled:

 

I’m just going to talk about the different thoughts I had while reading this book.

 

I really enjoyed the fact that Blowfish (i don’t actually remember how to spell hisreal name) knows about Percy being demigod and at the end he slayed everyone with them even though he couldn’t see anything because of the mist.

In the beginning though, Blowfish lets Percy drive his car because it isn’t the most dangerous thing that Percy could experience which made me laugh.

 

Rachel invites Percy to her family vacation. So I’m guessing they’ve been getting closer since the last book. I could also tell that Rachel definitely has a crush on him.

This was confirmed when Rachel kisses him before he left on Blackjack and I couldn’t even. She can’t just go in between my ship like that.

 

“Maybe he was messaging his friends on uglyface.com.”

                                                      -Percy Jackson

 

Honestly, I love sassy Percy.

 

“I kept climbing– past another telkhine, who was so startled he dropped his Lil’ Demons lunch box.”

                                                                       -Percy Jackson

 

Then he went on saying that he didn’t kill him because of the lunch box. Percy keeps getting funnier and funnier every book.

 

Percy and Beckendorf get on the boat to confront Kronos/Luke. Percy ends up jumping off the boat while they’re blowing it up and leaves Beckendorf behind. I was hoping that he made it because I liked him but he didn’t.

Percy wakes up in Poseidon’s palace and I was honestly imagining it like the palace in the Little Mermaid.

& then:

 

“They don’t show you stuff like that in The Little Mermaid.”

                                                  -Percy Jackson

 

He mentioned it! Poseidon seems like a cool dad, I wouldn’t mind if I was his daughter .

 

Percy’s reaction to seeing Annabeth again is so cute. They’re so real and I love it.

We find out that no matter what Percy does ; save or destroy the Olympus, according to the prophecy he’s going to die at the end.

When Percy said that if he dies, he dies because he doesn’t care. Annabeth starts shaking and can’t even look at Percy in the eyes. No matter she says, she really cares for him.

 

“I mean, sure, she’d always been cute, but she was starting to be seriously beautiful.”

                                                                                   -Percy Jackson

 

Literally what Percy said about Annabeth.

I’m glad they mentioned that it’s not considered incest unless they’re dating someone with the same godly parent. But, I wish they could’ve mentioned this sooner.

 

Grover is out telling everyone about Pan so he hasn’t been in touch which made me sad and nervous when I first read this.

Clarisse is so dramatic like so what if you don’t get honor, if you don’t help them there won’t be a camp for you to get honor from. Like it’s common sense.

Percy got some balls with Leneus. Like I was really impressed when he grabbed im and told him to get his shit together and find Grover and lead his people like he should’ve been doing.

 

Beckendorf’s death was confirmed when Nico spoke to his ghost and Beckendorf said he was fine with death and told Percy to stop putting the blame on himself.

Nico has this big plan to prevent Percy from dying and they’re going to talk to Luke’s mom about his childhood.

Luke’s mother made him so many peanut butter and jelly sandwiches because when he was in 3rd grade he said he would be back home for lunch nd he never came back. So she’s been thinking, “When he gets home, he’ll have his favorite sandwich” which is the saddest thing I’ve ever heard.

 

“Mrs. O’Leary still took up the entire living room, but she’d settled her head in the kitchen doorway so she could see us, which made her happy.”

                                                                           -Percy Jackson

 

She’s so freaking cute .

We find out that Grover’s okay. Percy uses his link and he’s sleeping. I loved when Percy tried to wake him up and he only woke up when Percy was like, “FOOD ! PANCAKES!”

 

“I’m afraid this is my new lead, Percy. My father promised me information about my family, but he wants to see you before we try the river. I’m sorry.”

                                                                               -Nico D’Angelo

 

I knew Nico was going to trick him. I don’t know, he’s been acting really sketchy and guilty.

Hades wants to keep Percy in the dungeon and his wife is fighting for Percy but she’s not really trying like she was like let him free, Hades was like no and she’s like come on and he’s like no and then she’s just like okay I’m kind of hungry.

My thought throughtout this entire book: “Damn, Typhon’s really destroying everything right now.”

Percy had to find something in this life that can help him stick with his humanity. Percy starts hallucinating that Annabeth was the one who pulled him out of the River Styx and when he looked around she wasn’t there. That means she’s the one who keeps him sane.

After Percy finished killing everything in his wake, he was like I think the river thing worked and Nico sarcastically said, “Nooooo.” That made me laugh.

 

We see scenes from the past and we see young Annabeth and she’s the cutest thing. She’s also really fierce and I was definitely not that fierce at age 7.

Hermes shows up and he’s pissed off about Luke and he’s holding his cool until Annabeth says sorry about everything that’s happened to Luke and he totally freaks out on her and starts blaming everything on her.

 

The city of New York is really silent and everyone’s concerned because that’s not normal. I can agree with this because I’ve lived in Manhattan and they don’t sleep.

 

“No, right there— Dylan’s Candy Bar.”

Connor grinned at his brother. “Dude, it’s open. And everyone is asleep. Are you thinking what I’m thinking?”

                                                                    -Travis and Connor Stoll

 

Connor and I man we’re on the same page. This was literally a converstion they were having while trying to find a plan for this battle.

The Hunters showed up. I’ve never been so excited to see them. I feel like I just missed them and their badass ways even though they’re really young.

Athena sends a message to Annabeth about Plan 23 and tells her to use it. We find out that this plan was to wake up all of the automans. Daedalus was a really smart dude.

At first, I didn’t know what the sand dollar was for but it cleans the water and helps with pollution apparently. That’s what Percy used to get the river gods of New York to sink Kronos and his ships.

Minotaur shows up and he’s the one that Percy killed in the very beginning. He hates Percy so much for killing him that he throws a white limo at Percy. That scene was actually so vivid which made it even more enjoyable.

 

“Before I coul lose my courage,” I said, “Don’t I get a kiss for luck? It’s kind of a tradition, right?”

I figured she would punch me. Instead, she drew her knife and stared at the army marching towards us. “Come back alive, Seaweed Brain. Then we’ll see.”

                                                                           -Percy Jackson- Annabeth Chase

 

Yaaas. I loved that.

 

Percy destroyed the Williamsburg Bridge during battle after Annabeth sacrificed herself for him and was taken by the pegasus Blackjack.

Percy’s thinking is actually funny to me. He was literally like “I’ve never driven a motorcycle before but it can’t be that much of a difference than riding a flying horse.” Like dude, there’s a huge difference.

Annabeth tells Percy that Luke went to her and told her to run with him and she didn’t trust him. That’s why Hermes was angry with her and blamed her because he believes she could’ve convinced him to stay away from Kronos.

The whole spy situation was really stressing me out and it got me thinking like “Why can’t these demigods be loyal?”

 

In Percy’s dream, he sees Nico trying to summon his mother but instead Bianca shows up and tells him that it’s a bad idea but Nico ignored her and summons their om anyway.

In the flashback, Hades really loved their mom. She died so Hades had his kid’s memories erased and taken to the Lotus Hotel.

Also, we learn that Hades was the one who cursed the Oracle to stay in mummy form but he said while Nico and Bianca were out of the hotel or something like that. That means that the anyone can become the Oracle now without being turning into Luke’s mom because she was trying to become the Oracle but Hades blocked it from happening.

Hermes knows why May acts and why she does the things that she does and knew Luke’s fate but never told him which pushed him away.

 

I also think that Prometheus had a point when he was talking aboutt he gods not caring especially about their children. He also brought out Pandora’s box which got me excited.

Luke is still somewhere in Kronos. He’s still fighting against him and trying to come back.

I really liked how the random statues in New York just became automatons. I think it’s really cool to imagine it.

In the middle of the battle, the centaurs just popped up slaying everybody and I loved every second of their entrance.

Annabeth’s faith in Luke being innocent under everything is so annoying like he’s betrayed you so many times get over it. You’re smarter than this.

Annabeth and Percy fly Guido the Pegasus to the helicopter that’s out of the control because Rachel’s in there. Guido gets hurt which hurts my heart. I love those pegasuses.

They also fight a drakon whihc is actually really cool, it’s a dragon but it’s poisonous and basically looks like a huge scaly snake.

 

These were my reaction to this scene:

 

Clarisse finally showed up!

jkh

 

She totally gets poison thrown at her by the drakon.

jskhfckjs

 

Jk, it’s not her.

kjshdf

 

The real Clarisse is here!

ejhfkjf

 

Oh no, Silena was the one who was pretending to be Clarisse!

jkdshj

 

Wait, hold the fuck up! Silena was the spy?!

ksjdhfsjkdf

 

I was obviously experiencing a lot throughout that scene.

Nico and Hades shows up to help them fight and that made me so excited.

 

“I didn’t realize we had our arms around each other until she suddenly tensed. “Um thanks.” She muttered.

I tried to say Don’t mention it, but it came out as, “Uh duh.”

                                                                   -Annabeth Chase and Percy Jackson

 

It’s so cute that even though it’s a battle they’re still being awkward and cute together.

 

“My only thought was to keep him away from Annabeth.”

                                                         -Percy Jackson

 

Yaaaas!

 

Luke stabbed himself with the blade which “killed” Kronos which made him the real hero before he passed away.

Tyson is so cute and he lead all of the cyclopes and he’s so proud of himself.

 

“We must… um… thank Poseidon.”

“I’m sorry brother,” Poseidon said. “What was that?”

“We must thank Poseidon,” Zeus growled. “Without whom… it would’ve been difficult-“

“Difficult?” Poseidon asked innocently.

“Impossible,” Zeus said. “Impossible to defeat Typhon.”

                                                                 -Zeus – Poseidon

 

I loved this moment.

 

Percy refused to become immortal because of Annabeth and he asked the gods to look after their children, that’s his only wish. Make sure that their children don’t feel abondoned.

Rachel becomes the new Oracle.

Annabeth and Percy kiss again and finally get together and Clarisse was like well it took you long enough. I’m here like same Clarisse! The first time I agree with you.

I absolutely adored this book and it was the perfect ending.

 

-Angie

 

One thought on “The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5) by Rick Riordan Book Review !

Leave a Reply

