April Wrap Up & May TBR 2016 !

Sorry, it took me so long to post this because I was in New York yesterday and I was really tired and mostly slept for most of the day.

 

Clockwork Prince

1.) Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) by: Cassandra Clare

★★★★★ 5/5

This book made me feel every emotion possible and I knew everytime I turned a page that I would either be fangirling or heartbroken. There was no in between. I’m not even prepared for the last book in the series.

The triangle of Will, Tessa and Jem technically starts in this book and I have to say I’m on Team Will even though I wouldn’t mind being in love with Jem. I usually go for the broken boy for some strange reason.

I also love how there was so much woman empowering scenes in this book. Like, it’s set in a time where women was needed only to support their husband but here it’s like they fight like men, they can run the Institute. It just makes me so happy.

I really enjoyed this book and I can’t wait to read the final book in the trilogy. If you haven’t read these books after the Mortal Instruments, you really should. I definitely recommend it!

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “Clockwork Prince”, click Clockwork Prince – book review

 

Stars Above

2.) Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles #0.5 , 0.6, 1.5, 3.1, 3.6) by: Marissa Meyer

★★★★★ 5/5

I freaking loved this book, every story meant everything to me. I didn’t realize how much I miss reading the Lunar Chronicles before I read this novella.

Marissa Meyer just knew what I needed, honestly. This book also had a couple of the chapters of her upcoming book Heartless but I didn’t read it because than i’ll be anticipating more than I already am.

My favorite stories were epilogue (Something Old, Something New) and Cinder and Kai first meeting in Kai’s point of view (The Mechanic) .

If you loved reading the Lunar Chronicles, you should really read this one!

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “Stars Above”, click Stars Above – book review

 

oblivion

3.) Oblivion (Lux #1.5) by: Jennifer L. Armentrout

★★★★★ 5/5

This is the story of Obsidian but told in Daemon Black’s point of view.

You guys know about my obsession with Daemon and this is one of my favorite book series of all time. I didn’t know I knew it before Jennifer L. Armentrout announced she was doing this. I really missed this love story.

I enjoyed this because it felt like I was rereading the first book with new eyes especially because I totally forgot about most of the things that happened in the first book. I also enjoyed seeing more of Daemon and Dee’s sibling relationship because usually we saw it from an outside point of view.

If you read and loved the first book or even the full series, you should really read this book.

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “Oblivion”, click Oblivion – book review

 

Stepbrother Dearest

4.) Stepbrother Dearest by: Penelope Ward

★★★★ 4/5

I needed a quick read that wouldn’t stress me out as much, so I decided to choose an adult book. This book had sex scenes in it but not as much as you would think.

I actually really fell in love with the story and characters. Elec was so hot, like he was this bad boy who had a passion for writing especially after his hard childhood.

I also enjoyed how we got to see them meet in Senior Year and then he leaves and we see them again 7 years later. It was just so good and if you’re interested in reading an adult book, I would highly recommend this one.

 

The Last Olympian

5.) The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5) by: Rick Riordan

★★★★★ 5/5

This was the perfect ending to a series. I had a lot of fun rereading these books especially this one. The battle was totally insane in this one and it was really cool to see all of the gods and demigods coming together.

This is one of my favorite series and it sucks that they ruined the movies because if they did it right, it would’ve been one of the best movies ever. The words in these books are so vividly written, it’s beautiful.

Still shipping Annabeth and Percy with everything in me.

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “The Last Olympian”, click The Last Olympian – book review

 

Tidal

6.) Tidal by: Emily Snow

★★★ 3/5

This book was about an actress who just got out of rehab and she has to go to Hawaii to film a new movie. It’s basically her going through wanting to relaspe and falling in love with Cooper. The only reason why I didn’t rate it less was because I really enjoyed and loved Cooper’s character.

I didn’t really like the way the story was told or the speed that the story was going.

 

Fangirl

7.) Fangirl by: Rainbow Rowell

★★★★★ 5/5

I absolutely adored this book and I don’t know why it took me so long to finally pick this book. It was cute and relatable and I can’t even tell you how many times I squealed throughout this book because of Cath and Levi.

I also like how the twins Cather and Wren had their troubles but at the end, they became the most important thing to each other again. I also didn’t think that this book would have too many deep family problems, so when they showed up, I was genuinely surprised.

I loved every character in this book and it kind of made me nervous but a little excited for college. I really recommend this book if you haven’t read this book if you’re in the mood for a cute romance and young adult book that’s really swoon-worthy.

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “Fangirl”, click Fangirl – book review

 

This is Where it Ends

8.) This is Where it Ends by: Marieke Nijkamp

★★★★ 4/5

Wow, this book actually tore my heart apart. & it also scared the shit out of me.

Like the idea of a classmate trapping everyone in the auditorium and just shooting everyone who gets in his way is like my biggest fear. Especially the way it happened in this book like there were so many deaths and it being told by 4 different points of view is even more heartbreaking. Also, those 4 people were connected to the shooter Tyler in some way which made it even worse.

My favorite perspectives were Autumn (Tyler’s sister) and Tomas.

If you could handle something like this, I really recommend it.

 

Harry Potter and the Socercer's Stone

9.) Harry Potter and the Sorcercer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by: J.K Rowling

★★★★★ 5/5

Now I know what the hype was all about. I enjoyed myself while reading this book. It’s already becoming one of my favorite book series. I love everything about the characters and the story line. I especially enjoy the relationship between the characters and all of the shocking things we find out while reading it.

I have no idea why it took me so long to read this book. When I was in elementary school, I would see these books in our school’s library but the size of them kind of scared me so I never went for it. I really regret that.

I’m so excited to get more into the story and follow Harry’s journey as he grows up.

if you want to know more of my thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”, click Harry Potter and the Socercer’s Stone – book review

 

                                                                       May TBR !

 

I had a pretty good reading month in April . I don’t know if it’ll be the same for May since I have SATs soon and my birthday and everything’s just going to be crazy this month. But these are 3 books I’m definitely reading.

 

1.) Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by: Cassandra Clare

I started reading this at the end of April. This is the final book and I just want to see how everything ends up even though I kind of know since I read City of Heavenly Fire already.

 

2.) Confess by: Colleen Hoover

I’ve only read one book from Colleen Hoover and it was amazing and definitely one of my favorite books. I’m really excited to read this book.

 

3.) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2) by: J.K. Rowling

I’m currently reading this book series and I finished the first Harry Potter books in April and I’m so excited and ready to read the second book.

 

-Angie

Leave a Reply

