US Book Covers vs. UK Book Covers !

 

I chose 13 different covers of books that I’ve read and haven’t read and I’m basically going to say what book covers I think is better.

 

U.K/U.S

1. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I think I prefer the U.S. one because of it’s simplicity and it’s really nice in the hardcover form. But I do think the U.K one is really nice, I just wouldn’t get that one.

 

U.K/U.S

2. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

I prefer the U.K one. I hate the U.S. one because of the huge face plastered on the cover and the U.K. one actually goes along with what happens in the book.

 

U.K/U.S

3. Looking for Alaska by John Green

I was torn between these two covers. I think the U.K one is really pretty but I also really like the whole candle smoke thing on the U.S cover. I really don’t know which one to choose.

 

U.K/U.S

4. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

I think these two covers are kind related to each other so it was hard to choose. But, I would choose to buy the U.S one because of it’s simplicity and I like the words “What would you do if you had to choose?” because it relates so much to the story.

 

U.K/U.S

5. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

I haven’t read this book yet so I don’t know if the U.S one relates more to the story, but if I was going to buy this book, I would choose to buy the U.K one. I feel like it’s more appealing than the flower.

 

U.K/U.S

6. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I prefer the U.S. one . I feel like the U.K one doesn’t look like a young adult novel so it wouldn’t appeal to a lot of people who are interested in the young adult genre.

 

 

U.K/U.S

7. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

I think I like the U.K one more just because the colors look really pretty together and it’s more simple. Even though I don’t mind the U.S one especially because it might relate to the actual story more but I wouldn’t know because I haven’t read this book.

U.K/U.S

8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I prefer the UK one. I think it goes better with the storyline of this book because of death dancing with the little girl. I also like how it looks crumpled paper.

 

U.K/U.S

9. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

This one was a hard for me because I love both of them. I love how simple the U.S one is and it has the road so you could tell that they’re going to a road trip. But I think the UK is so pretty and it’s clever that they put small symbols around the name that goes along with the book itself. I think I would buy the UK one.

 

U.K/U.S

10. I Was Here by Gayle Forman

For this one, I’m going to go with the US book cover. I think the UK book cover explains the book more but there’s a lot going on. I think the US one appeals more to me.

 

U.K/U.S

11. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I usually go with the more simple book covers but here I’m going to go with the US one because I like how the side of the books make a picture.

 

U.K/U.S

12. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

I’m going with the U.S. book cover just because I love it more. I also love how the headphones make the & sign. I also feel like in the US one , they’re more connected if that makes sense.

 

U.K/U.S

13. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I’m going with the UK cover. I like how it shows the whole phone and the font that Landline has.

 

-Angie

 

4 thoughts on “US Book Covers vs. UK Book Covers !

  1. I have a completely different cover on my copy of The Book Thief. What are your thoughts on book covers based on promo images / posters from film adaptations? Some people think this detracts from the cover… – Judith 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree, I have the film adaptation book cover of Insurgent and even though it’s not that bad, I’d rather have the original book cover. I like to imagine the characters in my head and the promo pictures really ruin that experience for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really loved this post! There were only three that I had different opinions on and one was because I couldn’t decide 🙂 I agree with the two of you. I don’t like buying the movie promo versions of books. Although when the movie for If I Stay came out I was really tempted to. Mostly I prefer the original covers or special anniversary covers.

    I also wanted to let you know I’ve decided to do your This or That book tag and I’ve mentioned you int 🙂 I hope that’s ok.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

