June Wrap Up & July TBR 2016 !

                                                                  June Wrap Up !

 

A Long Way Gone; Memoirs of a Child Soldier
1.) A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by: Ishmael Beah
★★★★★ 5/5
I read this book in my English Class and I absolutely loved it. I don’t read a lot of memoirs but this book actually made me want to read more in this genre.
This story has a lot of raw truth that no one ever wants to talk about, about the hardship that young boy soldiers go through.
This book made me cry and gasp multiple times. It was just crazy to think that this man went through all of this fighting, killing, drug use at age 12. And I feel like it was so crazy because I compared it to what I was doing at age 12.
If you’re looking for a good memoir to start reading, I really recommend this one.

 

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

2.) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2) by: J.K. Rowling
★★★★★ 5/5
It took me a while to read this book because of the reading slump that Clockwork Princess put me in. But once I sat down and actually read it, I couldn’t stop and I just loved every second.
I feel like since I read the first book, I thought I knew like how to catch the plot twists. But I obviously didn’t because I was shocked and surprised throughout so many parts of this book.
If anyone hasn’t read on into the Harry Potter (which I’m pretty sure everyone’s read it), I really recommend it.
if you want to know more of my thoughts on this book, click Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – Book Review

 

Stolen

3.) Stolen: A Letter to My Captor by: Lucy Christopher
★★★ 3/5
I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. It was kind of too predictable for me. I’m really sad I didn’t like it though because I just heard really great things about it.
That’s all I could really say about this book.

 

Confess

4.) Confess by: Colleen Hoover
★★★★★ 5/5
Oh my Gosh, I absolutely loved this book. Like yes, Colleen is so freaking good.
It stressed me out and it made me fall in love with Owen, like I have a crush on him I don’t even care.
The problems these characters went through were so real like I would forget that I was reading a book because it felt so real and that’s what I love about her books.
I also loved how the book had pictures of Owen’s paintings.
if you want to know more of my thoughts “Confess”, click Confess – book review

 

'Me_Before_You'

5.) Me Before You (Me Before You #1) by: Jojo Moyes
★★★★★ 5/5
My heart actually hurts like I’ve cried about 3 times during this book. Actually ugly cried. The last time I cried like this was The Fault in Our Stars.
The thing that hurt the most was that I had so much hope throughout the entire book and then it just hits me at the end. The charcacters were amzing and I literally fell in love with them and their backgrounds were so real and I loved that.
The love story between Louisa and Will was beautiful which just tore my heart out completely.
I definitely recommend this book if you haven’t read it, it’s so beautiful and I can’t wait to read the second book.

 

Magnolia

6.) Magnolia by: Kristi Cook
★★★★ 4/5
I actually really enjoyed this book. I didn’t think I was going to but I actually did. It was like Romeo and Juliet but the opposite. Their parents get along and they spend a lot of time with each other but Jemma and Ryder hate each other.
I loved the idea of a small town and they showed this small town going through something awful but they all stayed together. I just really enjoyed this.
Also, the side characters were my favorite. They all had unique personalities that I loved.
I would actually recommend this book to anyone who’s looking for a nice and fast contemporary book.

 

                                                                         July TBR

 

I’m not sure if I’m going to do much reading this month just because I usually read more while I’m at school.

 

1.) Obsession by: Jennifer L. Armentrout
I started reading this book already but I haven’t finished it. I think it’s so cool to see things from the Arum’s eyes and seeing the Luxens as the enemy. I’m really excited to see where this story goes.

 

2.) Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die #1) by: Danielle Paige
I started reading this one also and I’m already loving it because I love the Wizard of Oz.

 

3.) Isla and the Happily Ever After by: Stephanie Perkins
I’ve been dying to read this book because I loved Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door.

 

-Angie

5 thoughts on “June Wrap Up & July TBR 2016 !

  1. I’ve been wanting to read Confess for ages now! I’m going to pick it up this month I love CoHo and all her books are so good she really knows how to tear my heart up and put it back together XD

    I hope you enjoy Isla I liked it, The cameos are really really good 🙂 Great wrap up xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

