July Wrap Up & August TBR 2016 !

                                                           July Wrap Up !

 

So, I always find myself in a reading slump whenever summer starts which I don’t understand because that’s the time that I have more free time.

 

The Avengers V.1

1.) Marvel Masterworks: The Avengers, Vol. 1 (Marvel Masterworks: The Avengers #1) by: Stan Lee, Jack Kirby, Don Heck
★★★★★ 5/5
This is actually the first comic book I’ve ever read and I’m happy I chose this one because I love the Avengers. This collection has #1-10 and I enjoyed each one.
I think my favorite one has to be #6 (Masters of Evil) where they meet Zemo. I think this one was my favorite because of Captain America. The way he spoke and the things he said just made me look up from the book and just think “wow”.
I enjoyed seeing different superheros and villains that I enjoyed like the Fantastic Four and Loki.
I’m excited to read more comic books in the future.

 

Obsession

2.) Obsession by: Jennifer L. Armentrout
★★★★★ 5/5
I honestly just fell in love with this book and with Hunter. I was really excited to read this book when I heard it was about Hunter who we saw in the last couple of books of The Lux Series.
Also, the fangirling moment I had when we saw Daemon like I was freaking out. He didn’t speak but I knew what he was thinking cause we saw that in his point of view. He was basically like wow how can a human care so much for an Arum?
The one thing that I found weird was seeing the Luxen as the enemy because for so long, to me, the enemies were Daedulus, DOD, and the Arum. For a long time, the Luxens were never wrong even when they were. But in this book, seeing it from the Arum’s eyes they really fucked up.
The love story between Serena and Hunter was beautiful and I just loved every second of their developement. I feel like Hunter really reminded me of Daemon but he was not as big of a dick that Daemon was. I just loved this book.
If you’ve read the Lux series and you miss it just like I did, I really recommend this book.

 

                                                                          August TBR!

 

So my senior year starts at the end of August and I’m planning on doing all of my summer reading. I’m taking AP Literature and I need to read 3 books this months and then I have to read another book for my Honors Sociology class. So in August, I’m planning on finishing all of those books.

 

1.) East of Eden by: John Steinbeck
So, I’ve been trying to read this book for the past 2 weeks but I’m going to be done by tomorrow I’m guessing. It’s been hard to read because of my reading slump and there’s a lot of characters I have to have information on.

 

2.) Beloved (Toni Morrison Trilogy #1) by: Toni Morrison
I haven’t read this book but my friend said it was good so I’m really excited to read this one.

 

3.) All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy #1) by: Cormac McCarthy
This was the shortest book on the list of books that I had to pick from so this is what I chose.

 

4.) Class Matters by: The New York Times, Bill Keller
I have no idea what this book is but I’m excited to read, I’m just hoping it’s not boring.

 

-Angie

Leave a Reply

