October Wrap Up & November TBR 2016 !

I’m literally a horrible human being. I’ve been so bad at reading. This month I’ve actually been wanting to read but I’ve been trying to balance all of my AP classes and applying to colleges. I’ve been starting to read Harry Potter so I’m hoping to post a book review soon.

 

                                                                October Wrap Up !

the-swimmer

1.) The Swimmer by John Cheever
★★★★ 4/5
This is another short story that I read in my AP Lit. It was really entertaining and morbid at the same time. This man gets drunk and decides to swim home by using his neighborhood’s different pools in the fall. The most entertaining parts were his different neighbors and their reactions to him swimming from pool to pool.

 

the-short-happy-life-of-francis-macomber

2.) The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber by: Ernest Hemingway
★★★★ 4/5
This is also another short story. This story was absolutely great. It was boring at some points but the ending was amazing and it caught me off guard which I loved. I’ve always wanted to read some of Ernest Hemingway work and now that I did , I can’t wait to read more.

 

a-good-man-is-hard-to-find

3.) A Good Man is Hard to Find by: Flannery O’Connor
★★★★ 4/5
This is the second time I read this short story and I still loved it like I did the first time. It’s really powerful and entertaining. If you want to read a short story with a powerful and awful ending, this is the one for you.

 

November TBR ! 

 

I’m not putting a specific book here because I feel like when I’m in a reading slump, posting what I’m going to read sits on my mind and stresses me out. So, I’m just going to say that my goal is to finish reading at least one actual book this month. I want to start 2017 in a good way.

 

-Angie

Leave a Reply

