Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3) by J.K. Rowling Book Review !

I’m slowly coming out of my reading slump and I think this is my first book review in the last 6 months which makes me so happy. I feel like I completely forgot my format and everything. But I’m still really excited!

~~

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the third book in the Harry Potter’s Series by J.K. Rowling which is a young adult fantasy novel that includes magic and the wizardry world that was first published on July 8, 1999 by Bloomsbury.

If you haven’t read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, then don’t read ahead because you might get spoiled.

 

I’m going to include a spoiler-free section and a spoiler-filled (discussion) section.
….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

Spoiler-Free :

 

It’s Harry Potter’s third year and there’s been news of a mass murderer escaping from Azkaban, which is impossible to escape especially because of the guards, the Dementors.
Hogwarts is the safest place he could be but Harry isn’t so convinced about that.

I’m so happy I finally read this book. It’s definitely my favorite one from the first 3 books. I adored it and I especially loved Sirius Black, he was an amazing character.

I really liked seeing Hermione, Ron and Harry realize how much their friendship means to each other which I adore. They went through a lot in this book and their friendship was questioned through most of it but in the end, they came together and saved the world like always.

Also I want to mention again how I start reading these books thinking I’m going to catch the twist at the end but I never do which is more exciting I guess.
I also want to mention how freaking intense the Quidditch matches were. I felt like I was watching my favorite sport on TV and I was screaming like crazy, it was really intense and I loved it.

 

If you haven’t gotten to the 3rd book, I definitely recommend you do so .

….

..

.

Discussion/Spoiler-Filled :

 

Like always, this book starts with Harry having a horrible time at the Dursley’s. As always the Dursley’s are cruel and they don’t let Harry do anything magic related.

Harry’s going into his 3rd year and third years get to go to Hogsmeade and since Aunt Marge is coming so Uncle Vernon says he’ll sign the permission slip if nothing goes wrong while she’s here.

As you know, everything goes down to shit. Aunt Marge is such a horrible women and Harry gets angry with her and he blows her up into a huge balloon. He takes all of his stuff and leaves their house.

The Knight bus comes to get Harry because they’re a bus for stranded wizards which is really cool to me.

They mention Sirius Black who has escaped from Azkaban. They also mention that he killed 13 people with only one curse and that he was a supporter of Voldemort.

Something I really loved about this book was the fact that we got to spend a lot more time at Diagon Alley. For the rest of the summer, Harry is staying in the Leaky Cauldron. There’s a mirror in there that talks and tells you how you look. During the night, Harry was paranoid and he said, “No one’s going to kill me.” And the mirror was like, “That’s the spirit.” That really made me laugh but I know that if I ever experienced that, I would be so scared.

 

“It’s my birthday in September, and Mum and Dad gave me some money to get myself an early birthday present.”
“How about a nice book?” said Ron innocently.
“No, I don’t think so,” said Hermione composedly. “I really want an owl.”
                                                         Hermione – Ron

 

I love how Ron teases Hermione. Hermione ends up buying the cat Crookshanks who tries to kill Ron’s rat, Scabbers.

I was really amused when Harry saw Percy and he was being all formal and was teases by Fred and George. I love the twins, they’re one of my favorite parts of these books.

 

“I don’t go looking for trouble,” said Harry nettled, “Trouble usually finds me.”
                                                                              Harry

 

There’s a new professor, Lupin, who took the train with the students and he wasn’t in the best shape. I was really scared when the train stopped and the lights went off. Lupin finally woke up when this happens. The Dementors show up and Harry hears screaming before passing out.

I knew Snape and Lupin had some history because of the look of loathing Snape gives him.
It was announced that Hagrid is the new professor of Care of Magical Creatures which makes me so happy and it’s so cute how Harry, Ron and Hermione are so proud of him. Hagrid deserves to be noticed in that way.

Something I found interesting while reading this was how Hermione was able to have 10 classes in a day and some are at the same time. At the end, they say how she did it but I’ll mention it when we get there. I really believed that she was able to clone herself.

There’s a new professor that is mentioned named Professor Trelawney who teaches them how to read tea cups. Trelawney basically tells him that he’s going to die soon which scares everyone. I love how nonchalant McGonagall was about it, she was just like “She does this every year and no students have died yet.”

We’re introduced to Buckbeak who is basically like a puppy. But he didn’t like Draco very much and ends up giving him a deep gash on his arm. This makes Hagrid nervous and less confidence. This makes me sad because in his first lesson, he was really excited about everything.

Ron feels really passionate about his rat especially when Crookshanks keeps trying to kill him. Hermione and Ron keep arguing about it but they put aside their differences in order to make Harry feel better about not being able to go to Hogsmeade.

 

There’s a lot of tension going on because of Quidditch. They mention Cedric Diggory who is attractive and tall. He’s also the seeker for the Hufflepuff. The first Quidditch game was against Hufflepuff and Cedric is really good. In the middle of the game, the Dementors come and Harry starts to hear a woman’s voice, his mother’s voice, that keeps yelling to protect Harry. He falls off his broom and becomes unconscious. Cedric was so sweet, he said he wanted to do a rematch because it wasn’t fair that the Dementors showed up. Hufflepuff for the win 🙂

I find it so cute and sweet how Ron and Hermione decide to stay at Hogwarts for Christmas in order to keep him company.
When the students go into Hogsmeade, Fred and George call Harry into a room and they show him an empty parchment. It was really funny how they were like :

 

“This, Harry, is the secret of our success.”

 

They reveal that it shows a map of Hogwarts and secret passageways to get into Hogsmeade. This part really annoyed me because Harry went but he didn’t use his invisibility cloak. Like how could he just risk everything like that, it makes no sense.
Ron, Hermione and Harry eavesdrop on the adults who are telling the story of Sirius Black, Voldemort and the Potters. Hagrid mentions that the night he brought Harry to his Aunt’s house, Black asked for Harry since he’s the godfather but Hagrid refused because Dumbledore gave him specific instructions. It makes me think of what his life would’ve been like if Hagrid did give Harry to Black.

I love how every year Mrs. Weasley gets them sweaters, it’s something I look forward to. Harry also gets a Firebolt and they’re trying to figure out who could’ve given it to him. I knew it was from Black but obviously in the beginning I thought it was jinxed. Hermione also believed it was jinxed and tells McGonagall because she’s nervous and McGonagall takes it away for a month in order to test it for jinxes. Ron and Harry become angry with Hermione.

 

The second Quidditch game was against Ravenclaw. Their seeker keeps following Harry around so he tricks her. Dementors show up and he “defeats” them before grabbing the stitch. I believe that’s the first time that we Harry grabbing a stitch without almost dying beforehand. The “Dementors” were actually Draco, Goyle, and Crabbe trying to scare Harry.

It was amusing when Neville was blamed for leaving the password around for Black to find and his punishment was not being allowed to know the password. So if he wanted to get into the common room, he would have to wait for another Gryffindor student that can let him in.

The second time Harry goes to Hogsmeade, he uses his invisibility cloak but he messes around with Draco and he finds out it’s him and runs to Snape to tell him.

Draco was talking shit about Hagrid and Hermione slapped him and I was literally like:

gif-1

 

The last Quidditch game was between Slytherin and Gryffindor. Gryffindor won the cup but it was the most intense game ever. I felt like Jordan when he was screaming and freaking out. I was on the edge of my seat and just imagined everything.

The ending was just filled with information. Lupin is a werewolf and to make him feel better, Black, Peter Pettigrew, and James Potter became Animagus. Scabbers is actually Peter Pettigrew, who’s actually Voldemort’s supporter. Black is innocent.
Also can’t get over how smart Crookshanks is. She figured out everything, like there’s no way she’s just a cat.

This was one of the most powerful lines to me:

 

“You don’t understand!” whined Pettigrew. “He would have killed me, Sirius!”
“THEN YOU SHOULD HAVE DIED!” roared Black. “DIED RATHER THAN BETRAY YOUR FRIENDS, AS WE WOULD HAVE DONE FOR YOU!”
                                                                                    Peter – Sirius

 

Harry experienced a small happiness when Black mentioned that now that he’s an innocent man, Harry could leave the Dursley’s and live with him since he is his godfather.

Dumbledore obviously believed them about Black and they reveal that Hermione has a time turner which takes her back in time (how she took so many classes). He tells them to use it in order to use Buckbeak and Sirius Black. While there, Harry saves himself, Sirius and Hermione from the Dementors when he thought it was his father.
Obviously Gryffindor won the House Championship. No surprise there.

My favorite part was when they were on their way home and a baby owl gives Harry a letter from Sirius. He admits to giving him the Firebolt for Christmas and that he allows Harry to visit Hogsmeade. He also says that Ron can have the small owl since he doesn’t have a rat anymore. That was really sweet. It was funny when Uncle Vernon picked Harry up and Harry mentions that his godfather is a convicted murderer on the run and Vernon just seemed so done with everything.

 

There was so many things that I happened and I loved everything that happened even if it stressed me out.

 

-Angie

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3) by J.K. Rowling Book Review !

Leave a Reply

