March Wrap Up & April TBR 2017

I had a decent reading month in March. I’ve been into reading lately and hopefully this feeling doesn’t disappear in April.

 

March Wrap Up

 

The Catcher in the Rye

1.) The Catcher in the Rye by: J.D. Salinger
★★★★     4/5

I surprisingly enjoyed this book, probably because I felt a lot of empathy for the main character Holden. I couldn’t give this book a 5/5 because it kind of made me sad at some points especially when he would talk about the things he thinks is depressing and also because the ending kind of seemed unfinished to me.

I think everyone should give this book a chance, even if they end up not getting it or hating it. This is a book that everyone should read at least once.

 

After

2.) After (After #1) by: Anna Todd
★★★★★    5/5

I read this book as a fanfiction and it felt good to read it as an actual novel. Even though I knew everything that was going to happen, it still brought memories of my friends and I waiting for another chapter to be posted and completely fangirling over everything.

Even if you haven’t read the fanfiction, I would definitely recommend this book. It’s written in a way that makes your heart hurt when something bad happens and makes you smile when something good happens.

 

talking-as-fast-as-i-can-from-gilmore-girls-to-gilmore-girls-and-everything-in-between

3.) Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between by: Lauren Graham
★★★★★           5/5

This book was incredible and I loved everything about it! This book made me realize how much Lauren Graham is like Lorelai Gilmore.

One of my favorite parts of the book was when she mentions Old Lady Jackson which is her alter ego when she’s talking with her young friends and not wanting to sound old, she gives advice and if it’s too “back then” she would blame it on OLJ. I also appreciated when she talked about the ways to stay focused on writing.

I also loved when she mentioned everything about Gilmore Girls. It’s just something I needed because I miss the show. Also, she kept mentioning how the reboot ended in a cliffhanger (which I completely agree with) and when she mentioned it to the writers Amy and Dan, they would smile and nod. Makes me think that they might do another season of Gilmore Girls 🙂

 

Thirteen Reasons Why

 

4.) Thirteen Reasons Why by: Jay Asher
★★★★★      5/5

This story was so incredible. It was awakening in some way, it made me realize how much I would regret not saying something that I really wanted to say to someone. You never know what’s going to happen, so you should never hold back.

I definitely cried and it just hit me hard at some points. Especially in the final tapes, I literally hear her giving up. It’s really upsetting. I especially cried in Clay’s tape for some reason, I guess that tape just really got to me.

If you haven’t read this book yet, you definitely should especially with the show coming out. I had no idea how the show is going to work since Clay’s point of view lasted only a night and then the next morning but it was amazing. They made small changes but the show answered so many questions and showed how the characters were dealing with it after listening to the tapes. I finished it in 13 hours last night and I absolutely loved it.

 

Silas Marner

5.) Silas Marner by: George Eliot
★★★★   4/5

This story was incredibly inspirational. A lot of shit happened but it was still very enjoyable.

My teacher recommended this book to me and it took me a while to read it because I’m not used to reading classics. But just like every other classic I’ve read, I completely fell in love with it. I tend to get really attached to characters so their situations mean more to me than other people and this book definitely has characters that I can’t help but be attached to.

If you’re looking for a classic novel to read, I would definitely recommend this book.

 

April TBR 

I’m planning on reading more books than usual since I have spring break this month. But I’m not going to stress myself out with forcing myself to read. I’m going to do it so I can enjoy myself while reading. I’m also planning on writing a book review this month, I barely had time last month.

1.) How to be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life by: Lilly Singh 

I’ve started reading this once it came in my mail yesterday and it’s so inspirational and life changing so far. I’m just so proud of Lilly and she deserves the success that she’s experiencing.

2.) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by: J.K. Rowling

I’m really trying to finish this book series and I keep getting distracted by other book releases and TV show releases. I started reading this book today and I’m planning on finishing it soon and writing a book review.

3.) Open Road Summer by: Emery Lord 

I’ve been dying to read a contemporary and my friend recommended this book to me so I’m going to give it a chance.

-Angie

4 thoughts on “March Wrap Up & April TBR 2017

Leave a Reply

