April Wrap Up & May TBR 2017

I had a really good reading month in April which is good because I won’t be reading as much in May because of AP Exams, Finals and I also have prom in 2 weeks.  So, I’ll be really busy in May.

 

APRIL WRAP UP 

how-to-be-a-bawse

1.) How to Be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life by: Lilly Singh
★★★★★ 5/5

I absolutely adored this book and I’m not just saying this because I love Lilly. This book really inspired to become more determined and organized when it comes to achieving my dreams and goals.

It also inspired me to look at life with a positive outlook and to be genuinely nice to those around us.

Not only did Lilly serve me with knowledge but she did it in a way that made me laugh in a true Superwoman nature. If you’re feeling uninspired or you need to learn how to not only survive life but to conquer it, I really recommend this book to you.

 

pride and prejudice

2.) Pride and Prejudice by: Jane Austen

★★★★ 4/5

I enjoyed this book. I loved everything about Elizabeth and I just felt like she was more modernized especially in the time the story was set in and written in. I also loved Mr.Darcy but Lizzy became one of my favorite characters.

I really enjoyed this book more than I enjoyed Sense and Sensibility. I didn’t give this book a 5/5 because I’m a person who loves dialogue and Jane Austen would mention important information but not show it. This especially annoyed me when she mentioned an engagement instead of actually letting us experience it. Also, a lot of the characters annoyed me but not everyone can be perfect I guess.

 

Open Road Summer

3.) Open Road Summer by: Emory Lord

★★★★★ 5/5

I adored this book. This book made me feel everything. I loved the relationship between Reagan and Matt and even Reagan and Dee. The connections between everyone was amazing.

I also could vividly imagine what I was reading which I love, especially in a contemporary novel. I honestly felt like I was on tour with them.

I appreciated how broken Reagan was. It’s relatable and it shows how hard it is for people to experience new things and new love when they experienced what Reagan has. She’s beautifully broken and that’s okay.

I definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for a really cute summer book. You won’t regret it.

 

Slaughterhouse-Five

4.) Slaughterhouse-Five by: Kurt Vonnegut

★★★.5 3.5/5

I read this entire book in one day because of procrastination during my spring break. I enjoyed the story-telling in this novel but I was completely confused most of the time. I have so many questions that weren’t answered.

I do believe that this story is fascinating and interesting but I think my confusion just overpowered my interest in the novel.

I think you should give this a chance and I think it’s better when you read this book without knowing anything about it. All you need to know is that it’s an anti-war novel.

 

Illuminae

5.) Illuminae (Illuminae #1) by: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

★★★★★ 5/5

EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK.

This book literally became one of my favorite books. All of the twists and turns were amazing and I literally had to take small mental breaks in order to take everything in. The characters, especially Ezra, James, Kady, and Aidan were my favorites. Their sarcasm and their relationship with one another were one of my favorite parts of the book.

The way this book is written is so intriguing and I read it so quickly because of it.
If you haven’t read this book, you definitely should. And when you do, I truly believe it’s better to go into this book without knowing anything about it.

 

MAY TBR

I’m going to be really busy like I said above. So I’m only planning on reading one book and if I end up reading more, that’d be great. This month, I’m also not going to do a most anticipated book releases of may because I won’t have any free time.

1.) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by: J.K. Rowling 

I started reading this book today and I’m planning on reading it whenever I have a free moment during this month.

-Angie

Leave a Reply

