Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling Book Review

I’m finally posting this! It has taken me too long to write a book review and I’m planning on writing more (even if it’s just spoiler-free).

 

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is the fourth book in the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling which is a young adult fantasy book series that includes magic and the wizarding world that was published on July 8, 2000 (which is exactly 17 years ago) by Scholastic Inc.

If you haven’t read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s StoneHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, then don’t read this book review (even the spoiler-free section) because it might spoil it for you.

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

 

Spoiler-Free:

 

The synopsis from the back of the book:

Harry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened for hundreds of years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunately for Harry Potter, he’s not normal – even by wizarding standards.
And in his case, different can be deadly.

 

This book is really different than the last 3 books. I feel like the Harry Potter books usually has a set up: end of summer, going to Diagon Alley, beginning school, Quidditch games, big war. But this time, it involved more of the International Quidditch Cup and the Triwizard Tournament than the Hogwart’s Quidditch Game.

Something I really enjoyed about this book was learning more about the Triwizard Tournament.

Also, this book left me feeling excited about the next book but also sad (if you’ve read the book, you know why).

That’s all I can really say for the spoiler-free section. If you haven’t read this book, you definitely should.

….

..

.

Discussion/Spoiler-Filled: 

 

I’ve decided to make this section more of a discussion where I can rant about some parts and obsess over other parts instead of summarizing the book like I usually do.

I feel like this book is really important for the series because so many wizards were introduced (especially during the International Quidditch Cup) and because this is the first book where Voldemort actually rises.

I absolutely loved the Weasleys in this book. I feel like this book really made me laugh. One of my favorite scenes was the beginning when the Weasleys try to go to the Dursley’s house to pick up Harry and the fireplace was closed off and they literally broke through the wall. Mr.Weasley’s reaction was hilarious.

 

“Well…bye then,” Harry said to the Dursley’s.

They didn’t say anything at all. Harry moved toward the fire, but just as he reached the edge of the hearth, Mr. Weasley put out a hand and held him back. He was looking at the Dursley’s in amazement.

“Harry said good-bye to you,” he said. “Didn’t you hear him?”

“It doesn’t matter,” Harry muttered to Mr. Weasley. “Honestly, I don’t care.”

Mr. Weasley did not remove his hand from Harry’s shoulder.

“You aren’t going to see your nephew till next summer,” he said to Uncle Vernon in mind indignation. “Surely you’re going to say good-bye?”

 

I literally loved Mr.Weasley in this scene. I was also entertained by the way Mrs. Weasley was just so done with the twin’s prank and creations.

I knew this book was going to be intense when the opening scene of this book involved Voldemort killing people and planning his return with his sidekick Wormtail.

One of the things that frustrated me was when Ron and Harry got into a fight when Harry was chosen by the Goblet of Fire. It really hurt because you know they’re best friends and I just want the 3 of them to be together forever. You can also tell how alone and stressed Harry feels without Ron and Hermione. I was truly relieved when they made up.

Something I really loved was when Hermione became really passionate about freeing House Elves and tried to make a movement. I think this situation really showed her character because she’s always caring for others and sticking up for what she believes in.

 

“Well, the elves are happy, aren’t they?” Ron said. “You heard old Winky back at the match…’House-elves is not supposed to have fun’… that’s what she likes, being bossed around…”

“It’s people like you, Ron,” Hermione began hotly, “who prop up rotten and unjust systems, just because they’re too lazy to-“

 

Another amazing scene was when Mad Eye Moody turned Malfoy into a ferret. It was such an amusing scene. Also, it was really sad when Hermione was attacked for her teeth and when Snape makes a comment about seeing a difference. I don’t understand why Snape makes mean comments like that.

A new character that annoyed me and stressed me out was Rita Skeeter, who was a reporter for the Daily Prophet. She likes to sell stories that has sensational read and she’ll twist the truth to do that. Some of the things she published (like how Harry cries when he thinks of his dead parents) are so unneccessary. Like, obviously Harry would be upset about that, his parents are dead and he grew up being an orphan, you don’t have to publicize it.

Also, Harry’s crush on Cho Chang was mentioned more in this book which is convincing since Harry’s a fourteen-year-old boy who’s dealing with hormones. It was really awkward when Harry tried to ask her to the dance but she tells him that she’s already going with Cedric. I think I found this awkward because I’ve been there before just like a lot of people.

The whole Yull Ball situation was really entertaining. I loved how Ron and Harry don’t know much about girls. One thing I didn’t like was how Ron and Harry treated their dates. (I still think Ron should’ve asked Hermione to dance).

I really enjoyed seeing Dobby again especially with all his clothes on and I loved how Ron ended up giving him his sweater.

The Triwizard Tournament wasn’t so entertaining to me, I feel like it was more stressful than entertaining. But of course, it was needed in order to bring Voldemort back. I really don’t know how anyone could’ve guessed the ending. The whole Mad-Eye Moody situations and back story were so shocking to me (like every single reveal in the Harry Potter Series). Also, the whole reveal of him being Barty Crouch Jr. had me shook.

The most devastating scene was when Cedric and Harry decide to both win the Tournament and they’re sent to the graveyard where Tom Riddle is buried. But once they get there, Cedric is murdered in front of Harry with the Killing Curse (Avada Kedavra) which really hurt me because I’ve always loved Cedric.

Harry and Voldemort have a duel but Harry finds a way to escape the graveyard and return to the tournament. Fudge doesn’t believe that Voldemort has risen again because all he has to show is Harry’s word which is unreliable (apparently) so he never publishes to the Daily Prophet. So when Voldemort comes to attack, no one’s going to have a heads up to prepare themselves.

 

-Angie

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling Book Review

Leave a Reply

