The Playlist Book Tag

This tag was created a while ago but I couldn’t sleep last night and I started binge watching booktubers doing this tag and decided to do it. In this tag, you put your music playlist on shuffle and whatever song plays, you match a book that reminds you of the song.

 

  1. Perfect – Ed Sheeran

I don’t know why but the first book that came to mind was Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. I feel like this song completely fits them both. The chorus especially makes me think of their relationship.

 

2. Smoke and Fire – Sabrina Carpenter 

This song reminds me about We Were Liars by E. Lockhart for many reasons. I can’t really explain myself without spoiling the book. But if you’ve read this book, you know why I chose it for this song.

 

3. Clique – Kanye West ft. Jay Z & Big Sean 

Obviously, this song is about a “clique”. My all time favorite cliques are from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. My favorite “clique” moments were in Winter especially because that’s when the whole crew were together.The friendships between the characters were honestly one of the best parts of the books.

 

4. Space – Sabrina Carpenter

The first book that came to mind when I was listening to this was Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. Especially when Sabrina says “I’m hiding from my shadows.” or in the beginning when she says, “Questions all around, but there’s no answers.” I don’t know it’s just I feel like Melinda was constantly asking for space throughout the novel.

 

5. Sorry Not Sorry – Demi Lovato 

I started to think of my favorite savage characters and the first one to come to mind was Alec Lightwood especially in City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. He had his savage moments throughout the entire season even when it came to Magnus but it was more intense in the last book of the Mortal Instruments.

 

6. The Fault in Our Stars – Troye Sivan 

I’m going to go with the obvious answer The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This song always made me emotional and it was nice to listen to it after not listening to it for a while.

 

7. So Sick – Ne-Yo

This song reminds me of a song that Lilah Montgomery from Open Road Summer by Emery Lord would listen to after her break up with her high school sweetheart. She was dealing with a pretty bad heartbreak and I really think she would relate to this song.

 

8. Unpretty – TLC 

For this song, I chose Uglies by Scott Westerfeld because they’re in a society that’s telling them that they’re considered “ugly” unless they look like everyone else. The line “Never insecure until I met you.” really reminded me of it (‘you’ being the government).

 

9. Shadows – Sabrina Carpenter 

I love this song, it’s definitely my favorite from this album. The first book that came to mind was Confess by Colleen Hoover. Both Aubrey and Mason have dealt with some intense shit, they both have their “shadows” but they don’t see the darkness but the light in each other. The line that matches this is “I don’t mind your shadows because they look a lot like mine.”

 

10. Fumble – Trey Songz

After by Anna Todd. This reminds me of the relationship between Tessa and Hardin (or Harry for the fan fiction lovers). It’s a song about a guy who’s bad for a girl but she sticks with him. The line that reminded me of the book: “But I could’ve loved you so much better and I can’t believe you never walked out.”

 

11. Jump Out The Window – Big Sean 

This song is about a guy who’s trying to tell a girl that she deserves someone than her shitty boyfriend and he’s showing that he’s ready for a relationship with her. This really reminds me of the ending of I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella with Poppy and Sam. A line that I feel like Sam was always thinking is, “Sometimes I wonder if you even know how much you worth.”

 

12. Little Me – Little Mix 

I’m currently reading I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson and I’m on the first part when they’re 13 and I feel like this will be one of the lessons that Noah will learn because he’s lost his voice and he needs to “speak up, shout out, talk a bit louder, be a bit prouder.”

 

13. Your Love’s Like – Sabrina Carpenter 

This song is a really cute, summer love song and the first book that came into mind was Fifteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton especially when she says, “When life has left me numb and I need a pick me up there’s no better rush than your love”. Chelsea has gone through so much and Josh became her “pick-me-up” during the summer.

 

14. Heartbreak Girl – 5 Seconds of Summer

I feel like this song could relate to Peter and Lara Jean in To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han especially when Lara Jean is pining for Josh and Peter is always there for her.

 

15. Lay Me Down – Sam Smith

I wanted to start this by saying that this is my favorite Sam Smith song. This honestly reminded me of the Bella and Edward break up in New Moon by Stephanie Meyer where the months would pass and Bella will still be hurting and missing Edward.

 

16. Life is Worth Living – Justin Bieber 

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. I feel like the message of this song is all Hannah Baker needed to hear and be aware of.

 

17. Mad Hatter – Melanie Martinez 

Heartless by Marissa Meyer. Melanie wrote this song about the Mad Hatter in Alice in Wonderland who was an important character in Heartless. Everytime I listen to this song, I think about Heartless.

 

18. Slow Motion – Karina Pasian 

This song is basically about a girl wanting to be best friends with a guy before they fall in love so I started thinking about couples who were friends before dating so I decided to choose Etienne and Anna from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. They did fall in love with each other in slow motion.

 

19. #Beautiful – Mariah Carey ft. Miguel 

I’m getting Daemon Black and Katy Swartz from the Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout vibes from this song.

 

20. Soap – Melanie Martinez 

This song really reminded me of Lara Jean in To all the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. Lara Jean had the tendency of saying things to her crushes or ex-crushes that most people don’t have the balls to do.

 

-Angie

Leave a Reply

