Favorite Poems from Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

So, I read Milk and Honey today for the booktubeathon and there were a lot of poems that really resonated with me and I wanted to write down my favorite poems mostly for me so I can come back to these. If you’ve read this book, let me know some of yours in the comments!

 

Poems:

 

sex takes the consent of two

if one person is lying there not doing anything

cause they are not ready

or not in the mood

or simply don’t want to

yet the other is having sex

with their body it’s not love

it is rape

 

you tell me to quiet down cause

my opinions make me less beautiful

but i was not made with a fire in my belly

so i could be put out

i was not made with a lightness on my tongue

so i could be easy to swallow

i was made heavy

half blade and half silk

difficult to forget and not easy

for the mind to follow

(Milk and Honey, page 30)

 

you look just like your mother

i guess i do carry her tenderness well

you both have the same eyes

cause we are both exhausted

and the hands

we share the same wilting fingers

but that rage your mother doesn’t wear that anger

you’re right

this rage is the one thing

i get from my father

(homage to warsan shire’s inheritance)

(Milk and Honey, page 34) 

 

father. you always call to say nothing in particular. you ask what i’m doing or where i am and when the silence stretches like a lifetime between us i scramble to find questions to keep the conversation going. what i long to say most is, i understand this world broke you, it has been so hard on your feet. i don’t blame you for not knowing how to remain soft with me. sometimes i stay up thinking of all the places you are hurting which you’ll never care to mention. i com from the same aching blood. from the same bone so desperate for attention i collapse in on myself. i am your daughter. i know the small talk is the only way you know how to tell me you love me, cause it is the only way I know how to tell you.

(Milk and Honey, page 37) 

 

the thing about having

an alcoholic parent

is an alcoholic parent

does not exist

simply

an alcoholic

who could not stay sober

long enough to raise their kids

(Milk and Honey, page 39)

 

love will come

and when love comes

love will hold you

love will call your name

and you will melt

sometimes though

love will hurt you but

love will never mean to

love will play no games

cause love knows life

has been hard enough already

(Milk and Honey, page 60)

 

i need someone

who knows struggle

as well as i do

someone

willing to hold my feet in their lap

on days it is too difficult to stand

the type of person who gives

exactly what i need

before i ever know i need it

the type of lover who hears me

even when i do not speak

is the type of understanding

i demand

the type of lover i need 

(Milk and Honey, page 74)

 

he only whispers i love you

as he slips his hands

down the waistband

of your pants

this is where you must

understand the difference

between want and need

you may want that boy

but you certainly

don’t need him

(Milk and Honey, page 86)

 

did you think i was a city

big enough for a weekend getaway

i am the town surrounding it

the one you’ve never heard of

but always pass through

there are no neon lights here

no skyscrapers or statues

but there is thunder

for i make bridges tremble

i am not street meat i am homemade jam

thick enough to cut the sweetest

thing your lips will touch

i am not police sirens

i am the crackle of a fireplace

i’d burn you and you still

couldn’t take your eyes off me

cause i’d look so beautiful doing it

you’d blush

i am not a hotel room i am home

i am not the whiskey you want

i am the water you need

don’t come here with expectations

and try to make a vacation out of me

(Milk and Honey, page 97)

 

if

he can’t help but

degrade other women

when they’re not looking

if toxicity is central

to his language

he could hold you

in his lap and be soft

honey

that man could feed you sugar and

douse you in rose water

but that still could not

make him sweet

if you want to know the type of man he is

(Milk and Honey, page 99)

 

you treat them like they

have a heart like yours

but not everyone can be as

soft and as tender

you don’t see the

person they are

you see the person

they have the potential to be

you give and give till

they pull everything out of you

and leave you empty

(Milk and Honey, page 106) 

 

i don’t know what living a balanced life feels like

when i am sad

i don’t cry i pour

when i am happy

i don’t smile i glow

when i am angry

i don’t yell i burn

the good thing about feeling in extremes is

when i love i give them wings

but perhaps that isn’t

such a good thing cause

they always tend to leave

and you should see me

when my heart is broken

i don’t grieve

i shatter

(Milk and Honey, page 109)

 

you were not wrong for leaving

you were wrong for coming back

and thinking

you could have me

when it was convenient

and leave when it was not

(Milk and Honey, page 120)

 

love is not cruel

we are cruel

love is not a game

we have made a game

out of love

(Milk and Honey, page 127)

 

i am confident i am over you. so much that some mornings i wake up with a smile on my face and my hands pressed together thanking the universe for pulling you out of me. thank god i cry. thank god you left. i would not be the empire i am today if you had stayed.

but then.

there are some nights i imagine what i might do if you showed up. how if you walked into the room this very second every awful thing you’ve ever done would be tossed out the closest window and all the love would rise up again. it would pour through my eyes as if it never really left in the first place. as if it’s been practicing how to stay silent so long only so it could be this loud on your arrival. can someone explain that. how even when the love leaves. it doesn’t leave. how even when i am so past you. i am so helplessly brought back to you.

(Milk and Honey, 132)

 

what i miss most is how you loved me. but what i didn’t know was how you loved me so much to do with the person i was. it was a reflection of everything i gave to you. coming back to me. how did i not see that. how, did i sit here soaking in the idea that no one else would love me that way. when it was i that taught you. when it was i that showed you how to fill. the way i needed to be filled. how cruel i was to myself. giving you credit for my warmth simply because you had felt it. thinking it was you who gave me strength. wit. beauty. simply because you recognized it. as if i was already not these things before i met you. as if i did not remain all these once you left.

(Milk and Honey, page 138)

 

you are in the habit

of co-depending

on people to

make up for what

you think you lack

who tricked you

into believing

another person

was meant to complete you

when the most they can do is complement

(Milk and Honey, page 154)

 

you tell me

i am not like most girls

and learn to kiss me with your eyes closed

something about the phrase– something about

how i have to be unlike the women

i call sisters in order to be wanted

makes me want to spit your tongue out

like i am supposed to be proud of you picked me

as if i should be relieved you think

i am better than them

(Milk and Honey, page 164)

 

the next time he

points out the

hair on your legs is

growing back remind

that boy your body

is not his home

he is a guest

warn him to

never outstep

his welcome

again

(Milk and Honey, page 165)

 

i like the way the stretch marks

on my thighs look human and

that we’re so soft yet

rough and jungle wild

hen we need to be

i love that about us

how capable we are of feeling

how unafraid we are of breaking

and tend to our wounds with grace

just being a woman

calling myself

a woman

makes me utterly whole

and complete

(Milk and Honey, page 169)

 

my issue with what they consider beautiful

is their concept of beauty

centers around excluding people

i find hair beautiful

when a woman wears it

like a garden on her skin

that is the definition of beauty

big hooked noses

pointing upward to the sky

like they’re rising

to the occasion

skin the color of earth

my ancestors planted crops on

to feed a lineage of women with

thighs thick as tree trunks

eyes like almonds

deeply hooded with conviction

the rivers of punjab

flow through my bloodstream so

don’t tell me my women

aren’t as beautiful

as the ones in

your country

(Milk and Honey, page 170)

 

removing all the hair

off your body is okay

if that’s what you want to do

just as much as keeping all the hair

on your body is okay

if that’s what you want to do

-you belong only to yourself 

(Milk and Honey, page 176)

 

apparently it is ungraceful of me

to mention my period in public

cause the actual biology

of my body is too real

it is okay to sell what’s

between a woman’s legs

more than it is okay to

mention its inner workings

the recreational use of

this body is seen as

beautiful while

its nature is

seen as ugly

(Milk and Honey, page 177)

 

you were a dragon long before

he came around and said

you could fly

you will remain a dragon long after he’s left

(Milk and Honey, page 178)

 

i want to apologize to all the women

i have called pretty

before i’ve called them intelligent or brave

i am sorry i made it sound as though

something as simple as what you’re born with

is the most you have to be proud of when your

spirit has crushed mountains

from now on i will say things like

you are resilient or you are extraordinary

not because i don’t think you’re pretty

but because you are so much more than that

(Milk and Honey, page 179)

 

my heart aches for sisters more than anything

it aches for women helping women

like flowers ache for spring

(Milk and Honey, page 187)

 

hair

if it was not supposed to be there

would not be growing

on our bodies in the first place

-we are at war with what comes most naturally to us 

(Milk and Honey, 193)

 

what terrifies me most is how we

foam at the mouth with envy

when others succeed

but sigh in relief

when they are failing

our struggle to

celebrate each other is

what’s proven most difficult

in being human

(Milk and Honey, page 201)

 

-Angie


One thought on “Favorite Poems from Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Leave a comment