Recommending New Adult Romances

Hey guys! I’ve always loved new adult romances but lately, I’ve been enjoying them a lot more while in quarantine. I’m going to name 5 books that I would definitely recommend and give a quick overview of the story. All the books will have different romance tropes. I’ll probably be recommending some stories for my next couple posts because I’ve been working on a lot of blog posts that are taking longer time that I expected.

 

RoomHate

RoomHate by Penelope Ward

This story has the trope of roommates falling love and also hate to love, or more like love-hate and then back to love. Penelope Ward’s definitely one of my favorite authors and I’m always completely consumed by everything she’s written. This story follows Amelia and Justin and Justin’s grandmother had recently passed away and left half of a summer house to each of them, without them realizing until they get there. They had their own history in the past, that led to them hating each other, when they had meant everything to each other in the past. I definitely recommend this book, it’s definitely one of my favorites.

[goodreads link]

 

Wallbanger (Cocktail, #1)

Wallbanger (Cocktail #1) by Alice Clayton 

This has the neighbor trope and also some hate-love trope. This was actually the first new adult novel I read, back in novel and it’s definitely one that I tend to reread and think back on. This story follows Caroline and Simon (who will always be in my fav book boyfriends). Caroline recently started living in San Francisco, in her own apartment, and on her first night there, she hears Simon’s sexual adventures through their very thin walls, which continues everyday. Sexually frustrated and annoyed, she confronts him and that’s where their love bantering story begins. This is an amazing story and this is actually the only book that I’ve read by Alice Clayton, but just thinking back to this story makes me want to read more of her books.

[goodreads link]

 

Parental Guidance (Ice Knights, #1)

Parental Guidance by Avery Flynn 

This has the fake dating trope. I had just recently read this book and it’s a book that I’ve been really thinking about lately. This book follows Zara, who’s a sculptor, and Caleb, who’s a famous hockey player that has had some rough press. There’s an app where the parents choose the person that they go on 5 dates with and there’s this whole live session on television where they talk about the progress of their relationship. Zara’s forced on this app by her best friend and to help her father, who wants to be on television, and Caleb does it for a team member and his reputation. In the beginning of their relationship, they decide to do this to get it over with but they won’t fall in love with each other. They fake their relationship for live TV, but are they?? I definitely enjoyed this book and Zara is a bad bitch who speaks her mind and I just love those types of protagonists. Overall, I would definitely recommend this.

[goodreads link]

 

Stuck-Up Suit

Stuck-Up Suit by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward 

This book is a jerk CEO billionaire trope and it kind of starts with some hate-to-love. This book follows Soraya and Graham. Soraya is mesmerized by Graham on the subway and as he exits, he drops his phone. She then takes it and spends a couple days, looking through his phone before finding his building and returning it (on the desk outside his office, since he was a jerk to her) but she left a dirty picture of herself on his phone, which leads to them having a texting relationship before meeting. This is one of my favorite tropes, when they spend a lot of their relationships, texting each other and getting to know each other that way, so when they finally meet, the tension is just too real. I definitely enjoyed this story and the development of their relationship. I definitely recommend this book!

[goodreads link]

 

Drunk Dial

Drunk Dial by Penelope Ward 

This book involves the whole old childhood friends reconnecting in the future. This book follows Rana and Landon. One night, Rana gets drunk and decides to look up an old friend and call him. She ends up drunk dialing Landon, who thought had forgotten everything about her, but turns out he didn’t. They start talking on the phone a lot and develop their relationship before reuniting in person and strengthening their relationship even more. Like the previous story, I just love relationships that happen over the phone for some strange reason. Landon was one of my favorite book boyfriends because he was sweet and charming and just understanding. I enjoyed reading this book a lot and if there’s anything you learned about this list of books is that you should read anything by Penelope Ward (she’s absolutely brilliant). I recommend this book to everyone!!

 

Would you read any of these books? Have you read any of these books, and if you did, did you enjoy them? Let me know in the comments below! Also, let me know if you recommend any books for me with any of these tropes! I’ve been looking for new adult romances to read!

 

-Ang

 

 


2 thoughts on “Recommending New Adult Romances

Leave a comment