City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by Cassandra Clare Book Review !

City of Lost Souls is the fifth book in the Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare which is a young adult, fantasy, paranormal romance that was published on May 8, 2012 by Margaret K. McElderry Books.

 

If you haven’t read City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, and City of Fallen Angels don’t read ahead because this book review may contain spoilers from the first 4 books.

 

….

..

.

★★★★★ 5/5

 

Spoiler-Free Review :

 

When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary finds out that her boyfriend that she loves so much is bounded with her evil Sebastian. They’re bonded in a way where Jace is controlled by evil, he believes what Sebastian believes. There is no way of destroying one without destroying the other. Clary has a dangerous plan of her on, no one can stop her not even Simon.

Isabelle, Magnus, Alec, and Simon try to find ways to kill Sebastian without killing Jace. They’ve bargained with Seelies, demons, angels, and the Iron Sisters in order to get answers and find solutions.

 

This book was so intense and amazing. It’s in my Top 3 favorite books in this series after City of Heavenly Fire and City of Glass.

If you’ve read this book, you know why it’s so intense. Jace and Clary were absolutely perfect in this book even though they’ve been through a lot of craziness.

I also loved Isabelle in this book just because we were able to see her vulnerable and confused about love and it was so cute. #Sizzy all the freaking way. I can’t wait to see them on screen together and I also can’t wait to see their relationship become more official later on.

I really loved this book and the action. Also, I enjoyed kind of seeing more of the opposing side of the war. Like being with Sebastian for most of the book, you kind of feel sorry for him in the beginning and then he does something that’s very wrong and just ridiculous.

Also, avoid page 511 man. This is my second time reading this book and my heart still broke when it came to that page, I saw it coming but it still hurt.

 

If you haven’t read this book yet, you really should. You won’t regret it.

….

 

 

..

 

.

Spoiler-Filled Review :

 

Okay, first thing I need to talk about right now is Alec. Alec in this book stressed me out and if he would’ve thought more about his actios then page 510-511 would’nt have gone down the way it did. I understood why Alec wanted Magnus to be mortal so they can grow old together but he should’ve just talked to Magnus about his feelings. Clary was right when she told Isabelle that her and Alec need to learn how to show their emotions because no one around them ever knows what they are actually feeling.

But seriously, every single time Alec went to visit Camille I just wanted to be like :

726285

 

Okay, Sebastian was super creepy in this book. When Clary first goes to their house that is capable of going to different cities, Sebastian is trying to get Clary’s trust. And it seems like he really loves her as a sister until everything breaks lose and his crazy breaks out. He starts kissing Clary and telling her that he belongs to her and she belongs to him. And when I thought about it, throughout the entire book he did seem jealous but it’s still not right.

Also, the evil plan of making the Shadowhunters half demon instead of having them half angel was not what I expected. And when they turned Amatis into one , I literally gasped so loud because that was the last person I thought was going to be there and turned.

 

Clary and Jace were cute in this book. Even when Jace wasn’t himself, their date in Italy was the cutest thing. I did not like the part where they put the dust that’s basically a drug and he was being way too touchy but I had to keep telling myself that he wasn’t Jace. But in the Epilogue when Jace was finally himself after Clary stabbed him with the Glorious sword, they were so cute. Jace was just expressing his love even though she thought he was going to be distant and hate her because she did stab him but as they both said, their problems are way different than everyone elses.

Also, the fact that Jace’s touch apparently burns was crazy and he was really upset that Clary and him won’t be getting it on until they figure out what’s going on with him which is just Jace being Jace.

 

Maia and Jordan aren’t main characters in all of this but when they finally came back together, my feels were everywhere and I couldn’t help but screech in happiness. Whenever I see that we’ll be reading what’s happening with them, I get happy because I know it won’t stress me out.

 

Okay, Isabelle and Simon in this book!! Isabelle showed so much vulnerbility and she was jealous that Simon spent every night with Clary even though she told him to. They were so cute together and he was himself which made me happy. Like when Izzy and Simon were sleeping together, she asked him to tell her a story and he basically told her the story of Star Wars. And the next day when she was acting like she didn’t remember, he asked her a question and she couldn’t help but answer it correctly. That part made me giggle. And they had that intense moment when Iz let Simon drink her blood. Also, everyone knows they like each other but they both keep denying that the other loves them and it’s so annoying. Just date already !

 

-Angie


One thought on “City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by Cassandra Clare Book Review !

Leave a comment