APRIL 2020 WRAP UP

I had a pretty good reading month in April, I ended up reading 6 books overall and am planning on reading more in May since I’ll be done with this semester on the 11th. I know that this is a tough time for everyone, especially for me when it comes to my anxiety disorder, but reading has definitely made me feel a little better during this time.

 

The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky (Montague Siblings, #1.5)

The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky (#1.5) by Mackenzi Lee 

Rating: 3.5/5

It felt amazing to just be back with Monty and Percy. I didn’t realize how much I missed them until I started reading this book.
I gave this book a 3.5 because I didn’t hate it but I also wasn’t obsessed with it. It was a short story where I got to see one of my favorite couples and some of my favorite characters again. It was a feel-good. If you’re obsessed with the Montague siblings, I would definitely recommend this book just to get a quick taste of the world again!

 

Neanderthal Seeks Human (Knitting in the City, #1)

Neanderthal Seeks Human (#1) by Penny Reid 

Rating: 4/5

I’m obsessed with these characters and I cannot wait to read all of their stories in this series. Janie’s character was very unique and I loved her energy and how she would just blurt out the craziest facts, especially when Quinn made her nervous.
I loved how Quinn cared for Janie throughout the entire thing and their relationship was great and loving as they evolved as humans separate and together.
Definitely one of my favorite things was the knitting group and Janie’s friendship with Elizabeth. It’s one thing that I’m excited to be a part of while reading this series.
One of the reasons why I didn’t give this a 5/5 was Janie’s self destructive behaviors at time. There were times where I got frustrated about some of the things she would do and say without actually having a full conversation about it with Quinn. Elizabeth really became my favorite character in this story so I got really excited to read the second book.
Also one of the things I love about this series is that there’s no explicit scenes, the tensions there but Penny Reid gives you a feeling without having to explain descriptably.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this book and this series.

 

Friends Without Benefits (Knitting in the City, #2)

Friends without Benefits (#2) by Penny Reid 

Rating: 4.5/5

This book is one of my favorites so far in this series. Elizabeth is definitely one of my favorite girls in the knitting group so being with her throughout this novel, was amazing.
She’s just this badass doctor and her confidence level is actually amazing and inspiring. There was a lot of shit that happened in this book but the drama was the exact amount that I needed.
Nico, being so cute and smitten with Elizabeth really warmed my heart and it’s not something that I’ve read before. I loved learning about their past together and what happened to them. One of my favorite things that I loved in this story that I didn’t get in the first was definitely the way that Nico and Elizabeth talked to each other, no matter what the situation was. If something was hard or awkward or they were angry, they always talked it through.
One of my favorite scenes was definitely at the end when Elizabeth goes to Nico’s show to express how she truly feels. That scene warmed my heart and it was absolutely perfect.
Also, Penny Reid did this amazing thing where she had two different versions of one chapter where they have sexual relations (one that’s not descriptive and one that is), so you can choose which one you’re most comfortable with and I absolutely loved that and it’s one thing that I wish a lot of romance novelist consider doing!
This was definitely one of my favorite romance novels of all time but the reason on why I didn’t give a 5/5 was because at times, it did feel like their relationship moved a little quickly. I know that they had a past but there was one specific scene that I was like it is wayy too soon for that.
This is a story that I would definitely recommend to everyone, it was definitely a good time and the perfect amount of drama!

 

Parental Guidance (Ice Knights, #1)

Parental Guidance by Avery Flynn 

Rating: 4/5

This story’s plot was very intriguing which is why I picked it up. Zara was very fun and outspoken and I just loved how she didn’t care about what people thought of her, she was just herself. Following her and her amazing dog throughout this story was freaking amazing.
Caleb was very cute but I didn’t feel a spark towards him like I usually do with guys in a romance novel which is probably why I didn’t give this book a 5/5.
I did enjoy Caleb’s relationship with Zara but he was sometimes a dick, especially when he was with his teammates.
I just love the whole idea of their parents picking someone for them in an app and I love the fact that Zara and Caleb had an agreement to not fall in love and to just get those 5 dates over with so that they can please their parents. It kind of reminded me of one of my favorite tropes of “pretend boyfriend/girlfriend” situation.
Overall, this was a really fun read and one that I would definitely recommend if you’re in the mood for some new adult romance!

 

This Is Kind of an Epic Love Story

This is kind of an Epic Love Story by Kheryn Callender 

Rating: 4.5/5

This was such an enjoyable. This was definitely one of my favorite books that I read in April. The love story, the friendships, everything about it was absolutely amazing. The reason on why I didn’t give it a full 5/5 was because of how casual “Cheating” was described and talked about. No one really was reprimanded for it, it was pretty much a forgive and forget situation, without any real resolution.
One of my favorite things was definitely how normal LGBTQ was in this society. By that, I mean, no one really questioned it when people started being interested in the same sex, it was more of a “okay cool”, which I love.
I loved the dynamics between all of the characters and even Nathan’s relationship with his family. Overall, this book was amazing and my heart was warm throughout the entire novel. This is definitely one that I would recommend to everyone!

 

You Say It First

You Say it First by Katie Cotugno 

Rating: 3/5

I was given an early copy of this book by edelweiss.
This book was pretty average to me. It was definitely a page turner and I did read this book in one sitting. I did enjoy the relationship between the characters but I just wish that there was more of character development for both of them.
I appreciated Meg’s passion for politics and I think it’s important to give awareness to young adults but I think her way of going about it was a little too extreme and I just wish that she would say what she had to say without attacking others for not believing the same things.
There was some enjoyable aspects but others that I didn’t appreciate or wish that wasn’t included. Meg’s best friend was also not enjoyable and definitely one of my least favorite characters in this book. Overall, this book was okay. 

 

My least favorite book that I read this month was You Say it First by Katie Cotugno and I think my favorite book of the month was definitely Friends without Benefits or This is kind of an Epic Love Story, which are two books that I’ve been thinking about lately!

What were your favorite and least favorite books you read in April 2020? Let me know in the comments!

 

-Ang


Leave a comment