Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson Book Review !

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson is a contemporary young adult romance that was published on May 4, 2010 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers.

This book review might have some spoilers, if you haven’t read this book yet, don’t read ahead.

….

..

.

★★★★ 4/5

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is told by the main character Amy Curry who just lost her father, has a twin brother in rehab and mother who’s forcing her to move to Connecticut.

Her mother leaves a month before Amy to get the house prepared, leaving her car behind. Her mother needs Amy to bring the car to Connecticut but Amy hasn’t drove since her father’s passing. Her mother gets a family friend named Roger to drive the car across the country.

Her mother leaves them a specific list of destinations and hotel reservations and they decide to take a small detour that ends up becoming a large detour and a not so very happy mother.

During this trip, Amy and Roger are trying to find something. Roger’s main focus was to find ex girlfriend Hadley who hasn’t returned his calls but then realizes all he’s ever needed is right in front of him.

Amy slowly starts to find old and better self that she has lost since her father’s death.

This story was so heart wrenching. I have no idea what it’s like to lose a parent but it was awful to read it through someone who’s gone through that.

This story was one of my favorites I read this month, this just made me so happy and sad at the same time.

Something I really loved about this book was the fact that it had pictures of receipts, menus, even pictures Amy herself took for her Travel Scrapbook, etc.

It was perfect for a travelling themed book. This book honestly made me want to take a road trip, but I don’t have my liscence and I’m broke.

That’s besides the point though.

I really enjoyed the main characters and even the side charcters. My favorite would have to be Drew and Walcott from Kansas. I loved how Walcott repersented Kansas. He was so proud of being from there which was amazing to read about.

I loved the small games Amy and Roger played throughout the journey. Talking about the journey, one of my favorite scenes or scenery was when they drove through the Lonliest Road of America and they didn’t even know until they got off it.

I honestly didn’t know that existed until now. I should really get out and explore America more, even if it’s just virtually.

I really enjoyed the book, especially the dialouge. This book got me excited for this summer.

The one thing I didn’t like was the ending. Like I wanted more, I needed closure. I at least wanted to see Amy getting to her home in Connecticut. I just felt like I needed more after reading it.

I rated it a 4/5 just because of the ending, besides that I loved the book and I definitely reccomend this book if you haven’t read it especially during this time of year.

-Angie


2 thoughts on “Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson Book Review !

Leave a comment